Lucky Hand

Steve Dawson

of discs
Stock Status (?)
In Stock
Delivery Estimate
2-5 days
Blues, Americana
Black Hen Music
June 15, 2018

Format: Vinyl (LP)



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


'Lucky Hand' is Steve Dawson's first record of instrumental music since 'Rattlesnake Cage' came out in 2014 and represents a high point of more than two decades of musical searching. Comprised of 10 instrumental tracks of solo, duo and full-bodied string works, Dawson has never released music as sweeping, dynamic and visually suggestive as this.
Five of 'Lucky Hand's' tracks feature his old partner Jesse Zubot's innovative string arrangements based on melodies suggested by Dawson's guitar. With Peggy Lee (cello), Jesse and his brother Josh Zubot (violins) and John Kastle (viola) - contributing to the session, the results are moody and intense, full of imagery and suggestion.
As a producer and sideman, Steve spends a lot of his time in the studio capturing the essence of other top names in roots music, but it's when he turns his hand to composing and playing his own original material that he really shines. Recorded live off the floor, with several microphones used to capture the guitar and orchestration, this recording represents the perfect intersection of the primitive and the modern that has fascinated Dawson for so long.
Listen carefully to 'Lucky Hand' and you'll discern snatches of musical ideas from dustbowl history and the Delta Blues, nods to Chet Atkins, the inference of a Mississippi John Hurt melody, the dissonance of John Fahey remembered in a sustaining chord, and the modern touches of Ry Cooder and Sonny Landreth.

More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number BHCDV0088
Barcode 0803057034277
Number of items 1
Packaging type Slip Sleeve
Imported No
Weight 165g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 298mm x 2mm x 298mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1, Side 1

Song Title Time
1. The Circuit Rider Of Pigeon Forge 04:52
2. Bentonia Blues 04:39
3. Bone Cave 04:57
4. Old Hickory Breakdown 05:11

Track Listing — Disc 1, Side 2

Song Title Time
5. Lucky Hand 05:06
6. Little Harpeth 03:54
7. Lonesome Ace 04:30
8. Hollow Tree Gap 03:50
9. Bugscuffle 03:58