Mountains and Plains


of discs
Stock Status (?)
In Stock
Delivery Estimate
2-5 days
Electronic, Ambient
Crammed Discs
April 26, 2019

Format: Compact Disc



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


Stubbleman is the alter-ego of maverick composer and producer Pascal Gabriel. After many years in the wilderness of pop, Pascal has re-embraced his adventurous electronic ambient past with a project combining a lo-fi, cinematic mixture of found sounds, field recordings and modular synthesisers, often accompanied by live piano.

From humble beginnings in a Belgian punk band, Pascal moved to London in 1979 to form a string of art-school experimental bands, until he discovered the joys of the recording studio and gained recognition as an innovative producer and songwriter.

Initially known for landmark dance hits "Theme from S'Express" and "Beat Dis", he has since composed with, produced and mixed a huge spectrum of artists including Dido, Kylie Minogue, Inspiral Carpets, Can, Bebel Gilberto, Miss Kittin, Wire, Ladyhawke and countless others.

Stubbleman's panoramic debut album, 'Mountains and Plains', is inspired by a road trip across the USA, and the eleven tracks evoke the poignant delights of endless train tracks, sleepless cities, nostalgic ruins, big skies, high deserts and lost junctions, keeping at all times an affectionate eye for the humanity which populates these diverse landscapes.

Press Quotes

"It's a beautifully crafted work that fits Eno's definition of ambient being "as ignorable as it is interesting"...A low-key charmer destined, one suspects, for a long life."

**** The Observer

"Piety Wharf" is a beautifully reflective piano piece, and the blissed out Ulrich Schnauss-style post-rock of "Griffith Park" conveys the freedom of someone penning music with eyes on the distant horizon rather than the charts."

Electronic Sound

More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number MTM44
Barcode 0876623007975
Number of items 1
Packaging type Jewel Case
Imported No
Weight 100g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 142mm x 10mm x 125mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. Moonstone Beach -
2. Highway Sixty Something -
3. Griffith Park -
4. Abiquiú -
5. Badlands Train -
6. South 61 West 14 -
7. Longwood -
8. Taos Twilight -
9. Mesa Snow -
10. Great River Road -
11. Piety Wharf -