of discs
Stock Status (?)
In Stock
Delivery Estimate
2-5 days
Classical, Contemporary Classical
Odradek Records
January 19, 2018

Format: Compact Disc



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


Migrations is a collection of chamber works by Szymon Brzóska. Each piece is structured with clarity and intimacy, drawing the listener in, taking us on an exhilarating journey or offering moments of contemplation.

Szymon Brzóska's compositions have frequently been inspired by other art forms, particularly that of contemporary dance. Yet the nature of the music, whilst often evocative, even impressionistic, is not programmatic, and therefore need not be married to its original source. Rather, Brzóska's oeuvre works just as effectively presented, as here, as a series of stand-alone chamber works, independent of their original contexts. On this disc, the listener is afforded the opportunity of travelling with this music in new directions ? different, perhaps from the images, the shapes of the dancers, the artistic ideas, initially connected with the music, but as vividly felt by each person who takes the time to engage with these scores.

Szymon Brzóska has always been drawn towards collaborations with different art forms, composing for film, theatre and visual art. His musical style falls somewhere between contemporary avant-garde and expanded tonality with touch of minimalism. The music on this album features pieces from the following ballet productions:
Sutra Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui and monks from the Shaolin Temple (Sadler's Wells, London, 2008)
Orbo Novo Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui and Cedar Lake Contemporary Ballet (New York, 2009)
Dunas Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui and María Pagés (Madrid, 2009)
(S)NOW Joost Vrouenraets (Danshuis Station Zuid, Tilburg, 2010)
Oh, Noh Kaya Kolodziejczyk (Warsaw, 2012)
Casting Traces New Movement Collective (London, 2012)
Overture David Dawson (Het Nationale Ballet, Amsterdam, 2013)
Unintended Consequences Sjoerd Vreugdenhil (Poznan, 2014)

More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number ODRCD351
Barcode 0855317003516
Number of items 1
Packaging type Digipak
Imported No
Weight 70g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 140mm x 7mm x 125mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. Passacaglia (Orbo Novo) 02:53
2. Motus (Oh, Noh) 03:32
3. Ultima Forsan (Sutra) 02:09
4. In Perpetuum (Orbo Novo) 03:21
5. Vesperi (Unintended Consequences) 03:34
6. Rapidus (Orbo Novo) 01:49
7. Antiphona I (Orbo Novo) 01:23
8. Follow (Dunas) 02:18
9. Somnus ((S)NOW) 02:15
10. Venatus (Overture) 03:35
11. Antiphona II (Orbo Novo) 01:12
12. Movement I ((S)NOW) 01:38
13. Slide (Orbo Novo) 04:10
14. Metus (Oh, Noh) 02:37
15. Cohaesio (Orbo Novo) 03:29
16. Movement II (Unintended Consequences) 01:54
17. Ultima Necat (Orbo Novo) 02:32
18. Migrations (Casting Traces) 05:30