of discs
Stock Status (?)
In Stock
Delivery Estimate
2-5 days
July 1, 1995

Format: Compact Disc



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


Tangerine Dream set the stage for the style of "artsy" soundtrack music that dominated the '80s. Although Hyperborea is not a soundtrack, it was clearly influential on some of the work the group was hired to do for Risky Business, Flashpoint, Dreamscape, Firestarter, Legend, and close to 20 others. There have been at least a dozen members in this trio over the years, but the assembly of Chris Franke, Edgar Froese, and Johannes Schmoelling proved to be one of the most prolific and influential. Hyperborea was a turning point for the band -- a distinctive departure from the free-form psychedelica-and-moog prog rock improvisations, it was an album of crispness, structure, and a little bravery too -- a showcase for artists with enough chops to adjust to the new technology without getting lost in it. Getting its hands on the popular new keyboards of the mid-'80s, the band found wonderful textures, richly overlapping sequences, and on some level a chance to reinvent themselves, and with great results. Recorded in Berlin in 1983, it was the shape of things to come for the remainder of the decade. ~ Glenn Swan

More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number TAND 4
Barcode 0724383944620
Number of items 1
Packaging type Jewel Case
Primary Artist Tangerine Dream
Producer Edgar Froese, Christopher Franke, Johannes Schmoelling
Imported No
Artwork Edgar Froese
Bass Edgar Froese
Composer Edgar Froese, Johannes Schmoelling
Cover Design Edgar Froese
Current Distributor EMI Music Distribution
Engineer Edgar Froese, Christopher Franke, Christian Gstettner, Johannes Schmoelling
Guitar Edgar Froese
Keyboards Edgar Froese, Johannes Schmoelling
Performer Edgar Froese, Johannes Schmoelling
Series Executive Producer Bianca Acquaye
Synthesizer Edgar Froese, Johannes Schmoelling
Weight 100g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 142mm x 10mm x 125mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. No Man's Land 09:02
2. Hyperborea 08:30
3. Cinnamon Road 03:53
4. Sphinx Lightning 20:00