Thief (Ost)

Tangerine Dream

of discs
Stock Status (?)
In Stock
Delivery Estimate
2-5 days
August 1, 1995

Format: Compact Disc



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


Tangerine Dream scored director Michael Mann's film debut, Thief (released as "Violent Streets" outside of the U.S. market), adding their patented pulses, blips and whooshes to the film's highly stylized visual scenes. While TD's electronic music is a natural fit for soundtracks, it doesn't bring out the best in the band; for the most part, this soundtrack contains swatches of a larger canvas, building up a small head of steam in the span of four or five minutes but not raising the musical discussion above the level of mere mechanical chitchat. Most of the songs follow a set pattern, with Chris Franke slurring his sequencers under a thin fog of synthesizers, topped by a piercing and pithy melody. An engaging melody on "Beach Theme" makes it one of the album's better tracks, while "Trap Feeling" has a delicacy that compares favorably to Brian Eno's Music for Films. Fans of Force Majeure will find the second part of "Thru Metamorphic Rocks" reprised on "Igneous," while American audiences were treated to an actual rock song of guitars, bass and drums from the band on "Confrontation," written by Craig Safan (who would go on to score The Last Starfighter). Outside of the U.S., the track was replaced by "Beach Scene," which was issued as a promotional single in the U.K. and can be found on the Dream Sequence compilation. Despite charting well (number 43 in the U.K.), Thief is little more than a perfunctory exercise in electronic music -- a pastiche of leftovers and formulaic compositions that fail to fully engage the listener on their own. Of interest, Tangerine Dream also provided the soundtrack to Mann's next film, The Keep (available only as a bootleg to date), which in the context of that film was an unqualified success. ~ Dave Connolly

More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number TAND 12
Barcode 0724384052027
Number of items 1
Packaging type Jewel Case
Primary Artist Tangerine Dream
Producer Michael Mann, Tangerine Dream
Imported No
Bass Edgar Froese
Composer Craig Safan
Digital Remastering Simon Heyworth
Direction Bill Dern
Electronic Percussion Christopher Franke
Electronic Sounds Edgar Froese, Christopher Franke, Johannes Schmoelling
Engineer Tangerine Dream
Guitar Edgar Froese
Keyboards Edgar Froese, Johannes Schmoelling
Liner Notes Mark Prendergast
Mastering George Piros, Tangerine Dream
Musician Edgar Froese, Johannes Schmoelling
Percussion Christopher Franke
Performer Craig Safan, Edgar Froese, Johannes Schmoelling
Synthesizer Edgar Froese, Christopher Franke, Johannes Schmoelling
Weight 100g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 142mm x 10mm x 125mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. Beach Theme 03:45
2. Dr. Destructo 03:18
3. Diamond Diary 10:49
4. Burning Bar 03:11
5. Beach Scene 06:51
6. Scrap Yard 04:38
7. Trap Feeling 02:58
8. Igneous 04:45