Bayou-Degradable (2CD)

The Balham Alligators

of discs
Stock Status (?)
In Stock
Delivery Estimate
2-5 days
Rock 'N' Roll, Rock
The Last Music Company
November 3, 2014

Format: Compact Disc



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


Two CD definitive collection of tracks from The Balham Alligators, legendary London 80's/90's live circuit band that mixed Rock 'n' Roll, Cajun, Country and Rhythm 'n' Blues. Tracks are collated from the albums, 'The Balham Alligators,' Live At The Half Moon,' 'Life In The Bus Lane' and 'Gateway To The South.' With the exception of tracks from 'Gateway To The South,' this is the first time ever that these recordings have been made available on CD.

In the days before personal computers and the Internet, music was live-led, and anyone who went on to become anyone would have started out by playing live and building up a following. On the London pub circuit, Balham Alligators, were top of the Premier League.
The original line-up consisted of Geraint Watkins, Robin McKidd, Kieran O'Connor, Arthur Kitchener, and Gary Rickard. The Alligators played a hybrid blend of musical styles, including Rock 'n' Roll', Blues, R&B, Celtic Folk, Swamp-Pop, Country, Swing, Cajun & Zydeco.
The pressure of constant touring began to take its toll with the continued ill-health and eventual death of Kieran O'Connor, the departure of Kitchener and Ron Kavana, and despite the recruitment of Pete Dennis to replace Kitchener convinced the remaining members it was time to call it a day.
The following years were spent pursuing individual projects with Watkins and Rickard working with Charlie Hart as, Rickard, Watkins & Hart, with Watkins eventually leading his own outfit, The Wobblers, in 1992. Robin McKidd formed The Companions of The Rosy Hours a western-swing band. Despite the four years since the original band's demise, McKidd was still receiving offers of work for the Alligators, persuading Watkins and Rickard to try out a few gigs with The Wobblers as a backing band, it became apparent that the Alligators were still a viable concern. Bolstered with morale and momentum they recruited session musician, Bobby Irwin on drums and ex-Chilli Willi and the Red Hot Peppers' bass guitarist Paul Riley and by the latter half of 1995 they recorded Gateway To The South (1996) and followed by Cajun Dance Party (1997).

Press Quotes

"There's not a bad track. Those with fond memories of the Balham Alligators will love this release and those who never saw them back in the day will wish they had. 5/5" – Country Music People

5/5 - Maverick

More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number PRPCD021
Barcode 0805520030212
Number of items 2
Packaging type Jewel Case
Imported No
Weight 120g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 142mm x 10mm x 125mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. Balham Two-Step -
2. Hey-ho, Ho-ho -
3. Sugar Bee -
4. Tennessee Blues -
5. Oh Siobhan -
6. Let's Dance -
7. Louisiana -
8. Scotland/Allons a Lafayette -
9. Tacos -
10. Little Liza Jane -
11. Hobo Blues/Balham Two step -
12. Oh Marie -
13. Six Days On The Road -
14. Lawdy Miss Clawdy -
15. Caledonia -
16. White Lightning -
17. Diggy Liggy Lo -
18. Let's Go To The Hop -
19. Hobo Blues -
20. Balham Two-Step -
21. Sacre Bleu -

Disc 2

Track Listing — Disc 2

Song Title Time
1. Cajun Walk -
2. If The Swamp Don't Get You -
3. Big Mamou -
4. I Don't Want To Be In Love -
5. Love Has No Pride -
6. Alligators Grinning -
7. It's My Own Business -
8. Diggy Liggy Lo -
9. What Have You Got To Lose? -
10. Fine Fine Fine -
11. Feel Like A Fool -
12. Allons Rock 'n' Roll -
13. Bayou Teche -
14. Gotta Have Money -
15. Malheureuse -
16. Big Bad Dog -
17. Secret Love -
18. Cash On The Barrel-Head -
19. Too Much -
20. The Last Waltz -
21. Hot Rod -
22. Honky Tonk -
23. Johnny B Goode -