Come Write Me Down

The Copper Family

of discs
Stock Status (?)
In Stock
Delivery Estimate
2-5 days
November 20, 2001

Format: Compact Disc



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


Come Write Me down by The Copper Family of Rottingdean finally brings the legendary 1950s and early '60s Copper Family recordings to CD for the first time. These rare performances present the glorious 'Southern harmony', southern English that is, that The Coppers brought to prominence during the early part of the folk revival.

The classic duet harmonies of cousins Bob and Ron Copper are featured along with previously unreleased recordings of the quartet including both their fathers, the brothers John and Jim Copper.

The influence The Coppers and these recordings have had is inestimable. All this goes to make this release, arguably, the most important traditional music release this century. Come Write Me Down has been carefully remastered with astonishing results, sounding better than anyone had originally hoped for.
Included are two booklets: a 60 page booklet with extensive biographies, historical notes and a 36 page book with full lyrics. With the recent sad demise of Bob, shortly after receiving national recognition by way of his MBE, this is possibly the finest archival tribute to his legacy.

More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number TSCD534
Barcode 0714822053426
Number of items 1
Packaging type Jewel Case
Imported No
Weight 186g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 142mm x 10mm x 125mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. Spencer the Rover -
2. Good Ale -
3. Thousands or More -
4. Babes in the Wood -
5. The Banks of the Sweet Primroses -
6. Sweep! Chimney-sweep! -
7. Two Young Brethren -
8. The Brisk and the Bonney Lad -
9. The Month of May -
10. The Honest Labourer -
11. The Birds in the spring -
12. My Father Had an Acre of Land -
13. Shepherd of the Downs -
14. The Threshing Song -
15. The Seasons Round -
16. Sportsmen, Arouse! -
17. Hard Times Of Old England -
18. The Lark In The Morning -
19. Warlike Seamen -
20. When Spring Comes In -
21. The Brisk Young Ploughboy -
22. Cupids Garden -
23. Dame Durden -
24. The Claudy Banks -
25. General Wolf -
26. Adieu, Sweet Lovely Nancy -
27. Talking -
28. Come Write Me Down, Ye Powers Above -