Levitate (Expanded Edition) (2CD)

The Fall

of discs
Stock Status (?)
In Stock
Delivery Estimate
2-5 days
Cherry Red
May 25, 2018

Format: Compact Disc



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


"Levitate" is the Fall's 19th album originally released in 1997 on Artful Records. It has been out of print for a number of year snow and is much sought after by fans.It's the last album to feature two long-time Fall members, drummer Karl Burns and bass player Steve Hanley (whose playing was once described by Smith as the defining element of the group's music)..The album was initially going to be produced by Keir Stewart and Simon Spencer (who previously collaborated with Smith under the moniker D.O.S.E. on the 1995 single 'Plug Myself In'). Most of the recordings took place at Edwyn Collins' studio in West Hampstead. However, Stewart and Spencer soon fell out with Smith over payments and left after a week, taking most of the tapes with them. The only tracks from these sessions to make the album were "4? Inch" (allegedly edited out of samples of a rehearsal recording), 'Spencer', later re-dubbed by Smith as 'Spencer Must Die', and 'The Quartet of Doc Shanley'. .This re-issue has been re-mastered by long term Fall engineer Andy Pearce and features new sleeve notes by Daryl Easlea: it is presented as a 2-CD set and a 3-LP Set.

More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number CDBRED725
Barcode 5013929172531
Number of items 2
Packaging type Jewel Case
Imported No
Weight 118g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 142mm x 10mm x 125mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. Ten Houses of Eve -
2. Masquerade -
3. Hurricane Edward -
4. I'm a Mummy -
5. The Quartet of Doc Shanley -
6. Jap Kid -
7. 4 1/2 Inch -
8. Spencer Must Die -
9. Jungle Rock -
10. Ol' Gang -
11. Tragic Days -
12. I Come and Stand at Your Door -
13. Levitate -
14. Everybody But Myself -

Disc 2

Track Listing — Disc 2

Song Title Time
1. Powderkex -
2. Christmastide -
3. Recipe for Fascism -
4. Pilsner Trail -
5. Everybody But Myself (Live) -
6. Masquerade (Single Mix) -
7. Ivanhoes Two Pence -
8. Spencer Must Die (Live) -
9. Ten Houses of Eve (Remix) -
10. Calendar -
11. Scareball -
12. Ol' Gang (Live) -
13. Masquerade (Mr Natural Mix) -
14. Masquerade (Pwl Mix) -