of discs
Stock Status (?)
In Stock
Delivery Estimate
2-5 days
Folk, Singer Songwriter
Hudson Records
November 4, 2016

Format: Vinyl (LP)



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


The Furrow Collective is a critically acclaimed English/Scottish quartet consisting of four distinctive and talented performers ? Lucy Farrell (fiddle, viola, voice), Rachel Newton (harp, fiddle, voice), Emily Portman (banjo, concertina, voice) and Alasdair Roberts (guitars, voice). The group formed in 2013, drawn together by a shared love of traditional song and balladry and an open, intuitive approach to collaboration. They mostly focus upon material from English and Scottish sources, occasionally turning their attentions further afield in their quest for intriguing songs.
Their debut 'At Our Next Meeting' was recorded with award-winning producer Andy Bell; it was variously heralded as 'a quietly triumphant set' (The Guardian), 'a real treat' (Bright Young Folk) and 'one of the finest collaborative albums of the past few years' (Folk Radio UK). Boasting a stripped-back power, the album led to nomination for Best Group and Best Traditional Track in the 2015 BBC Radio Two Folk Awards and a live session on BBC Radio 2. 2015's five-song EP 'Blow Out the Moon' was similarly well-received, resulting in another Best Traditional Track nomination the following year.
Again produced by Andy Bell and building on the success of its predecessor, 'Wild Hog' shows a marked development in the group's sound and approach, featuring guest musicians Alex Neilson (Trembling Bells) on drums and Stevie Jones (Sound of Yell) on double bass.

More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number HUD001LP
Barcode 0713924999816
Number of items 1
Packaging type Slip Sleeve
Imported No
Weight 306g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 300mm x 3mm x 300mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1, Side 1

Song Title Time
1. Wild Hog In The Woods -
2. Dear Companion -
3. Prince Heathen -
4. Barbara Allen -
5. Willie's Fatal Visit -

Track Listing — Disc 1, Side 2

Song Title Time
1. Many’s The Night’s Rest -
2. Chuir M'Athair Mise Dhan Taigh Charraideach -
3. Polly Vaughn -
4. Queen Eleanor's Confession -
5. The Maiden Hind -
6. Beneath The Window Of My Cell -