Up To Anything

The Goon Sax

of discs
Stock Status (?)
In Stock
Delivery Estimate
2-5 days
Rock, Alternative
Chapter Music
April 15, 2016

Format: Compact Disc



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


Chapter Music is excited to release Up To Anything, the debut album by Brisbane trio The Goon Sax.

Louis Forster, James Harrison and Riley Jones are all 17-18 years old. They make pop music. They have refined tastes - they love the Pastels, Talking Heads, Galaxie 500, Bob Dylan and Arthur Russell.

On Up To Anything they pull off the almost impossible, capturing the awkwardness, self-doubt and visceral excitement of teenage life, while still in the thick of actually living it.

The band formed around high school friends James and Louis in 2013, and some scrappy duo-era home recordings still linger on the internet. Riley joined in early 2014, after a month of drum lessons, and the band played their first show a few months later.

Chapter signed The Goon Sax in 2015 on the strength of an unsolicited demo, the first time that has ever happened in the label's history. We introduced the band to the world via music conference Bigsound last year, and singles Sometimes Accidentally and Boyfriend have since been featured on the likes of Stereogum, NME, BBC6 and Brooklyn Vegan.

They've gone on to play with the likes of US Girls, Twerps, Blank Realm and Crayon Fields, and have a spot on Brisbane Laneway Festival in February.

Goon Sax songs are both immediately charming and deceptively deep - Sweaty Hands examines a point in a relationship where you're seen at your worst, while Telephone addresses the heartbreaking realisation that nothing you offer your crush is enough.

The Goon Sax are already masters at pairing teen microdrama with pop sophistication - but clearly, Up To Anything is just the beginning!

More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number CH132CD
Barcode 0934334404442
Number of items 1
Packaging type Jewel Case
Imported No
Weight 100g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 142mm x 10mm x 125mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. Up To Anything 03:43
2. Sometimes Accidentally 03:27
3. Target 02:51
4. Telephone 04:50
5. Home Haircuts 03:42
6. Boyfriend 03:00
7. Sweaty Hands 04:25
8. Susan 02:55
9. Making The Worst 02:56
10. Anyone Else 03:06
11. Maggie 02:04
12. Icecream (On My Own) 03:36