Live In Concert & Crow's Milk (DVD)

The Magic Band

of discs
Stock Status (?)
In Stock
Delivery Estimate
2-5 days
Blues, Rock
Delko Music
December 9, 2013

Format: DVD



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


Limited Edition Store Exclusive available only from (whilst stocks last).

In 2003 the Magic Band recreated the Beefheart sound live on stage for the first time in over 20 years. Key members John 'Drumbo' French, Mark 'Rockette Morton' Boston, Denny 'Feelers Rebo' Walley, Gary Lucas and Robert Williams stepped out to perform a magnificent live set.

This featured gig at Shepherd's Bush Empire, mixed in 5.1 surround, gives fans the first ever opportunity to immerse themselves in a full-length concert of Beefheart's music. The French / Boston rhythm combo is legendary; guitarists Denny Walley and Gary Lucas are superlative. Several years before Don Van Vliet's death and a good two decades after he quit the music business it was essential for someone else to make the leap to front man. The band decided that 'John French gets to be Don' and the resulting performance is truly outstanding. And as French takes the mic the drums become the property of Robert Williams.

The gig includes classic tracks from albums 'Safe As Milk', 'Lick My Decals Off, Baby', 'Clear Spot' and 'Trout Mask Replica'. No dodging the difficult here as the band members display their easy command of fiendish compositions. The DVD includes a John Peel narrated reunion documentary, filmed in California and the UK, which follows this Magic Band as they rehearse and finally perform live on stage - with band interviews, rehearsal footage, a contribution from Simpson's creator and fan, Matt Groening, candid behind the scenes material and rare archive.

Press Quotes

Watching the intricacies od the music unfold before your eyes is something most Beefheart buffs could only have dreamed of. The accompanying documentary traces the development of the reunion freom the Mojave Desert to London.

MOJO. 2005

the Shepherd's Bush Empire gig is itself extraordinary. Guitarists Lucas and Walley create a viscuos tension that never slackens ... French steps up to the mic. He's a revelation.

UNCUT. 2005

The energy and life of the original music is still there but brought to a new level.

Matt Groening


More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number SUBDIVA001PMC
Barcode 5052442004806
Number of items 1
Packaging type Keep Case
Imported No
Weight 108g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 135mm x 14mm x 190mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. Abba Zaba -
2. My Human Gets Me Blues -
3. Steal Softly Thru Snow -
4. Gone Bops Over Mount Kilimanjaro -
5. On Tomorrow -
6. Evening Bell -
7. Alice In Blunderland -
8. Big Toe -
9. Veteran's Day Poppy -
10. Floppy Boot Stomp -
11. China Pig -
12. Dropout Boogie -
13. Nowadays A Woman's Gotta Hit A Man -
14. When It Blows It Stacks -
15. Circumstances -
16. I'm Gonna Booglarize You -
17. Click Clack -
18. Moonlight On Vermont -
19. Sun Zoom Spark -
20. Big Eyes Beans From Venus -
21. CROW'S MILK - Reunion Documentary (50 min) -