The Pedrito Martinez Group

The Pedrito Martinez Group

of discs
Stock Status (?)
In Stock
Delivery Estimate
2-5 days
October 7, 2013

Format: Compact Disc



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


This charismatic group - a veritable 'Latino Fab Four' - who met and started playing together at the Guantanamera restaurant in New York City in 2006, is led by the much in-demand Cuban percussion wizard Pedrito Martinez. Their self-titled album and debut for Motéma features Steve Gadd, Wynton Marsalis, and John Scofield.

Produced by Steve Gadd and Martinez, The Pedrito Martinez Group features guest appearances by collaborators and admirers including Wynton Marsalis (trumpet on "Lengua de Obbara"), John Scofield (guitar on "Travelling Riverside Blues"), Gary Schreiner (chromatic harmonica on "I'll Be There"), Marc Quinones (timbales on "La Luna") and even Matt Dillon, who contributes a spoken word cameo on "Lengua de Obbara."

Personnel: Pedrito Martínez (percussion, lead vocals), Ariacne Trujillo (piano, lead vocals), Álvaro Benavides (electric bass, background vocals), Jhair Sala (percussion, background vocals) plus guests

Press Quotes

Pedrito Martinez is an immensely talented and hugely charismatic percussionist...This is an endlessly creative four-way collaboration honed by lengthy live playing in the clubs and restaurants of New York, which makes this a very assured debut recording indeed.

The Jazz Breakfast, (Peter Bacon), October 18, 2013

Remarkably malleable music: Afro-Cuban, R&B, gospel, flamenco and various other genres and subgenres are seamlessly sewn together on this impressive debut. Martinez is among the planet's finest Afro-Latin hand percussionists.

Jazzwise, (Robert Shore), December 2013/January 2014

More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number 233785
Barcode 0885150337851
Number of items 1
Packaging type Digipak
Imported No
Weight 66g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 140mm x 7mm x 125mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. Conciencia 06:04
2. Lengua de Obbara (feat. Wynton Marsalis) 06:28
3. Travelling Riverside Blues (feat. John Scofield) 05:51
4. La Luna (feat. Steve Gadd) 05:52
5. Memorias 07:50
6. La Habana 06:16
7. I'll Be There (feat. Gary Schreiner) 05:56
8. Música 05:35
9. Después de Todo 07:45
10. Los Santos (feat. Steve Gadd, Marc Quinones) 06:16