Eskimo Deconstructed (40th Anniversary Edition) (2LP+CD)

The Residents

of discs
Stock Status (?)
Temp Out Of Stock
Delivery Estimate
5-10 days
Electronic, Avant-garde
Cherry Red
May 31, 2019

Format: Vinyl (LP)



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


The classic ambient masterpiece deconstructed - over seventy loops, chants, musical fragments and sound effects extracted from the original multitrack tapes and spread across four sides of vinyl..Re-construct and re-mix 'Eskimo' at your leisure! .A unique unwrapping of one of the great artistic achievements of 20th Century music.

Also includes one hour CD of Arctic wind backgrounds.To celebrate the 40th anniversary of 'Eskimo' The Residents present a unique collection of the album's constituent parts, and encourage their public to remix and rework the album. Including over seventy individual musical elements, chants, loops and sound effects recorded on location by the group in the mid-late 1970s, plus a backing CD of Arctic wind noise, this remarkable set provides unprecedented insight into the three years' recording and construction of a legendary album, and an opportunity for fans to "walk around inside a masterpiece, the viewing angles almost infinite". Conceived by The Residents partly in response to their satisfaction with the successful 'I AM A RESIDENT' project and their fans' musical abilities, and with their own love of interfering with the music of their heroes in mind, 'Eskimo (Deconstructed)' represents a first. Never before has a band peeled back the layers of one of their finest works in such microscopic detail, and made those highly intimate elements available to the public to re-interpret as they choose. Sure, it's a classic, and this is undoubtedly sacrilege, but consider this a chance to screw with The Residents' music just like they've been screwing with everybody else's for almost fifty years now. Dig out your sampler and your turntables and dive in!'Eskimo (Deconstructed)' is the latest in a series of archival Residents reissues that will continue throughout 2019 and beyond. Look out for 'American Composers Series', 'God In 3 Persons' and 'Cube-E' sets, coming soon.

More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number NRTLP008D
Barcode 5013929360815
Number of items 3
Packaging type Slip Sleeve
Imported No
Weight 412g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 310mm x 5mm x 310mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. Eskimo' Theme -
2. Synthesiser Pad #1 -
3. Six Inuit Musicians Impersonate The Residents -
4. Birth Field Recording Extract -
5. Album Finale Version One -
6. Ancient Whale Chant -
7. A Musician Plays Kooa For Us (At Daybreak) -
8. Unknown Indigenous Poem & Synthesiser -
9. Kooa Musician At Daybreak Take 2 -
10. The Residents Rehearse An Old Northwestern Play -
11. Album Finale Version Two -
12. North Western Poem #1 -
13. Residents Poem #1 -
14. Dodgers All The Way! -
15. Break -
16. Commercial Chant -
17. Studio Argument -
18. North Western Poem #2 -
19. Squeeze -
20. Indigenous Chant #1 -
21. Two Amused Hunters Impersonate The Residents -
22. Asked -
23. Driven -
24. An Amused Hunter Impersonates Player -
25. Life -
26. We Don't Know How To Prey -

Disc 2

Track Listing — Disc 2

Song Title Time
1. Train Ride -
2. Creaking In The Wind -
3. Synthesiser Pad #2 And Whistlin' -
4. Water's Edge Ritual And Overdubs -
5. Drone Piece #1 -
6. Tape Speed Play Improv -
7. Twinklz -
8. Dogs -
9. Drone Piece #2 -
10. Whistle While You Walk -
11. Water's Edge Field Recording -
12. Synth Bang -
13. Synth Swell -
14. Bell -
15. Sonar Communications -
16. Low Synth Rises Up -
17. We All Stomp -
18. Somebody's Abstract Piece -

Disc 3

Track Listing — Disc 3

Song Title Time
1. Arctic Field Recording -