Jenkins: Consort Music for Viols in Five Parts

The Spirit of Gambo & Freek Borstlap

of discs
Stock Status (?)
Delivery Estimate
Upon Release
Classical, Chamber Music
Musica Ficta

Format: Compact Disc

This title will be released on September 20, 2019
Pre-order now!

Price Promise: Order now, and if the price is reduced before dispatch you will pay the lowest price



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


The new album of consort music for viols in five parts by John Jenkins comes from an ensemble who has already been awarded two Diapason d'Or for their previous recordings on Musica Ficta: The Spirit of Gambo. This album includes some extraordinary works for viol consort which can be considered to be the best in the genre.

These works stand at the highest peak of their genre and their musical invention and technical facility rarely dips. There is an assured variety of structure in the series. In view of the range of expression and colour, it is extraordinary that only three tonics (G, D and C) are used. What clearly sets these works apart from their Jacobean predecessors is their exploitation of lyrical and melodic ideas, which are rarely surpassed.

The power of The Spirit of Gambo, according to the critics, is the sheer pleasure the members take in playing together, their drive and their excellent musicianship. Their repertoire includes music by Dowland, Purcell, Bach and many others. The ensemble was founded by Freek Borstlap and Gesina Liedmeier. The Spirit of Gambo plays on beautiful instruments built especially for the ensemble by Gesina Liedmeier. Their CD Jenkins consort music of four parts (Musica Ficta MF8011) received the highest distinction: a Diapason d'Or award. The group plays frequently at international festivals and they have recorded several CDs, including The Silver Swan with soprano Claron Mc-Fadden and a CD of instrumental music by Christopher Tye also awarded a Diapason d'Or (Musica Ficta MF8022).

More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number MF8030
Barcode 5410939803026
Number of items 1
Packaging type Digipak
Imported No
Weight 100g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 142mm x 10mm x 125mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. John Jenkins: Fantasy III -
2. John Jenkins: Fantasy XIII -
3. John Jenkins: Fantasy XV -
4. John Jenkins: Fantasy VI -
5. John Jenkins: Fantasy VIII -
6. John Jenkins: Fantasy IX -
7. John Jenkins: Fantasy VII -
8. John Jenkins: Fantasy XII -
9. John Jenkins: Fantasy I -
10. John Jenkins: Fantasy XVI -
11. John Jenkins: Fantasy IV -
12. John Jenkins: Fantasy XIV -
13. John Jenkins: Fantasy V -
14. John Jenkins: Fantasy X -
15. John Jenkins: Fantasy II -
16. John Jenkins: Fantasy XI -
17. John Jenkins: Fantasy XVII -