of discs
Stock Status (?)
In Stock
Delivery Estimate
2-5 days
Jazz, Contemporary
January 19, 2018

Format: Compact Disc



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


For his album 'Lucus', Norwegian drummer/composer Thomas Strønen presents a revised edition of his acoustic collective Time Is A Blind Guide, now trimmed to quintet size, and with a new pianist in Wakayama-born Ayumi Tanaka. It is released on CD and on 180g vinyl (with a free download code).

Tanaka has spoken of seeking associative connections between Japan and Norway in her improvising, a tendency Strønen seems to be encouraging with his space-conscious writing for the ensemble, letting in more light.

As on the group's eponymously-titled and critically-lauded debut album there are excellent contributions from the string players ? the quintet effectively contains both a string trio and a piano trio ? and Manfred Eicher's production brings out all the fine detail in the grain of the collective sound and the halo of its overtones, captured in the famously-responsive acoustic of Lugano's Auditorio Stelio Molo in March 2017.

Personnel: Ayumi Tanaka (piano), Håkon Aase (violin), Lucy Railton (violoncello), Ole Morten Vågan (double bass), Thomas Strønen (drums, percussion)

More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number 5779058
Barcode 0602557790580
Number of items 1
Packaging type Jewel Case
Imported No
Weight 120g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 143mm x 11mm x 128mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. La Bella -
2. Friday -
3. Release -
4. Lucus -
5. Fugitive Places -
6. Baka -
7. Wednesday -
8. Tension -
9. Truth Grows Gradually -
10. Islay -
11. Weekend -