The Rose Of Roscrae (2CD)

Tom Russell

of discs
Stock Status (?)
In Stock
Delivery Estimate
2-5 days
Country, Folk
Proper Records
April 13, 2015

Format: Compact Disc



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


Double CD, 52 track "cowboy folk opera" features a who's who of legendary Americana icons including Johnny Cash, Gretchen Peters, Guy Clark, Joe Ely, Tex Ritter, Dan Penn and many, many more.

For over four decades and 28 album releases Tom Russell has continued to live up to his status as "one of the best singer-songwriters of our time" (Washington Post). His previous two studio releases, Blood and Candle Smoke (2009) and Mesabi (2011), are considered his strongest composed works yet and were, in part, recorded with the groundbreaking roots band Calexico.

In the 1990s, Russell and Dave Alvin were hailed as the architects of what came to be known as "Americana" music after their Merle Haggard tribute, Tulare Dust, initiated the Americana charts in the U.S. and remained number one for a year. Russell's previous release, Aztec Jazz (2013), moved Americana into a new realm and his acclaimed song catalog into uncharted territory.

Tom Russell's songs have been recorded by Johnny Cash, Doug Sahm, Nanci Griffith, Lawrence Ferlinghetti, Dave Alvin, Joe Ely, and others. The Rose of Roscrae is his third in a series of acclaimed folk operas, follows The Man From God Knows Where (1999) and Hotwalker (2005).

Tom Russell's anticipated double-album folk opera, The Rose of Roscrae, features a who's who of legendary Americana icons including: Jimmie Dale Gilmore, David Olney, Johnny Cash, Joe Ely, Augie Meyers, Fats Kaplin, Barry Walsh, Jimmy LaFave, Gretchen Peters, Ramblin' Jack Elliott, Walt Whitman, Moses "Clear Rock" Platt, Jack Hardy, David Massengill, A.L. "Bert" Lloyd, Finbar Furey, Sourdough Slim, Blackie Farrell, Tex Ritter, Glen Orhlin, Pat Russell, John Trudell, Henry Real Bird, Thad Beckman, Maura O'Connell, Eliza Gilkyson, The McCrary Sisters, Ian Tyson, Bonnie Dobson, Lead Belly, Guy Clark, Dan Penn, Gurf Morlix, and Pat Manske.

Russell has also composed movie scores, including songs for the Monte Hellman movie The Road To Nowhere and published five books, most recently 120 Songs of Tom Russell. An accomplished fine artist, Russell's paintings are featured in: Blue Horse/Red Desert: The Art of Tom Russell.


More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number PRPCD130
Barcode 0805520031301
Number of items 2
Packaging type Digipak
Imported No
Weight 62g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 142mm x 10mm x 125mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. Overture 02:56
2. This Is The Last Frontier 01:14
3. Guilty/Johnny Behind-the-Deuce 05:38
4. Sam Hall 00:59
5. The Rose of Roscrae 05:34
6. Hair Trigger Heart 05:05
7. He’ll Be Dead Before He Hits the Ground 01:21
8. You Gotta Have A Dance/ St James Hospital 02:41
9. Ain’t No More Cane On The Brazos 03:19
10. The Last Running 05:33
11. Home On The Range/America 01:14
12. Just A Closer Walk (With Augie Blood) 02:25
13. Cowboy Voices Beyond The Campfire 02:02
14. He Wasn’t A Bad Kid, When He Was Sober 04:43
15. The Sidekick’s Last Testament 02:15
16. Johnny’s Campfire Soliloquy #1 01:36
17. The Unfortunate Rake/The Streets of Laredo 01:48
18. The Hands of Damien 02:17
19. This Is The Last Frontier/Campfire Soliloquy #2 01:41
20. Carrickfergus/The Water Is Wide 04:33
21. The Fairground Pugilist 01:31
22. Campfire Soliloquy #3 01:07
23. Campfire Ghosts/Cowboy Voices 02:17
24. Crazy Horse/Custer’s Luck 02:43
25. Johnny Behind-the-Deuce #2—Molokai 01:28
26. She Talks To God 03:22
27. Rock of Ages/Gunpowder Sunset Overture 02:52

Disc 2

Track Listing — Disc 2

Song Title Time
1. The Water Is Wide/Overture 02:33
2. I Talk To God 03:14
3. The Bear 02:53
4. The Railroad Boy 01:05
5. Resurrection Mountain 03:47
6. When The Wolves No Longer Sing 02:59
7. Just A Closer Walk With Thee/The Gospel of John, Chapter 4 02:34
8. Jesus Met The Woman At The Well 02:37
9. Damien (A Crust of Bread, A Slice of Fish, A Cup of Water) 05:21
10. Guadalupe/Valentine de la Sierra 04:23
11. Poor Mother Mexico 01:20
12. Gallo del Cielo 01:33
13. Soliloquy #1/Swiss Yodel Choir 01:51
14. En Canadien Errant 01:09
15. He’ll Be Dead Before He Hits The Ground #2 01:32
16. Doin’ Hard Time In Texas 03:15
17. When I Was A Cowboy aka Western Cowboy 01:56
18. West Texas Montage 04:26
19. Old Rattlebag Blues (Soliloquy #2) 02:36
20. Midnight Wine 05:23
21. Whiskey In His Blood 02:31
22. Tularosa 03:51
23. Irish Medley/The Stable 04:52
24. Isn’t It Grand? 01:48
25. The Rose of Roscrae 05:48