Shelia / Sheila - The Early Years

Tommy Roe

of discs
Stock Status (?)
In Stock
Delivery Estimate
2-5 days
Rock 'N' Roll, 60's
Jasmine Records
June 28, 2019

Format: Compact Disc



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


This compilation comprises all of Tommy Roe's recordings between 1960-62 and includes his two earlier 45s, recorded as a 17-year old, one of which was his almost unfeasibly rare original recording of "Shelia" (miss-spelled thus on the record label) from 1960.

Some of these sides are virtually impossible to find elsewhere on CD, notably those two early singles, as well as a couple of his later, 1962, non-album 45s.

When Tommy Roe topped the US charts with "Sheila" in 1962, he stirred up much controversy and criticism, fuelled by accusations that he was copying the late Buddy Holly.

Nonetheless the disc was a multi-million-selling, worldwide, hit and Tommy went on to establish himself as one of the biggest Pop stars of the 60s.
The same year he charted internationally with his debut LP, also cunningly titled "Sheila", and follow-up singles "Susie Darlin'", "Piddle De Pat", "Town Crier" and "Gonna Take A Chance".

More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number JASCD1015
Barcode 0604988101522
Number of items 1
Packaging type Jewel Case
Imported No
Weight 100g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 140mm x 10mm x 120mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. Caveman (with The Satins) -
2. I Got A Girl (with The Satins) -
3. Shelia (with The Satins) -
4. Pretty Girl (with The Satins) -
5. The Room (with The Satins) -
6. Sheila -
7. Save Your Kisses -
8. Susie Darlin' -
9. Piddle De Pat -
10. Little Hollywood Girl -
11. Heartbeat -
12. There Will Be Better Years -
13. There's A Great Day A-Coming -
14. Think About The Good Things -
15. Look At Me -
16. I Found A Love -
17. Blue Ghost -
18. Maybelline -
19. Town Crier -
20. Rainbow -
21. Gonna Take A Chance -
22. Don't Cry Donna -
23. Katy Did -
24. Sensations -
25. Standing Watch -
26. You're My Happiness -