Future Passed

Tony Kofi

of discs
Stock Status (?)
In Stock
Delivery Estimate
2-5 days
Specific Jazz
May 15, 2006

Format: Compact Disc



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


Future Passed is the second album to be released on Specific Jazz by multi award winning saxophonist and composer Tony Kofi. Having won the award for Album of the Year at the 2005 BBC Jazz awards for his debut album, All Is Know, and the 2005 Jazz Parliamentary award for Best Ensemble, expectation is high for Kofi's latest project, which features Anders Olinder on B3 Hammond Organ and Robert Fordjour on drums.
The idea for Future Passed was born in 1994, when Kofi was taking part in the Fuji Jazz Festival with jazz hip hop group US3. After seeing a performance by the Lou Donaldson & Dr Lonnie Smith Group, he was immediately struck by the mix of emotions that flowed through him as he listened to the sound of the B3 Hammond Organ. Later that year, fate conspired to bring US3 and Dr Lonnie Smith together for a one off recording project, and the wonderful experience has remained with him ever since. So when Kofi met Anders Olinder in 2001 and saw how he approached the B3 Hammond Organ with the same feeling that he'd heard back in '94, it was only a matter of time before he set his mind to composing music around the sound of the Hammond Organ, and finding the right musicians to complete the sound he was looking for. Alongside Olinder & Fordjour, Kofi brought in some of the UK's finest musicians in the form of Byron Wallen (Trumpet), Cameron Pierre (Guitar) and Donald Gamble (Percussion).

More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number SPEC004
Barcode 0805520070041
Number of items 1
Packaging type Jewel Case
Imported No
Weight 100g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 142mm x 10mm x 125mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. The Journey -
2. Suibokuga -
3. Zambia -
4. A Song For Pappa Jack -
5. As We Speak -
6. Blue Pavel -
7. The Eternal Thinker -
8. Jubilation (For Bod) -
9. Brotherhood -
10. April 13th -
11. This Dream Of Mine (For MJ) -
12. We Out -