of discs
Stock Status (?)
In Stock
Delivery Estimate
2-5 days
World Music, Africa
No Format
January 19, 2018

Format: Compact Disc



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


Years after, finally the triple alliance of Gerald Toto, Richard Bona and Lokua Kanza returns with a new album "Bondeko", the belated follow-up to their acclaimed magical collaboration on 2004's Toto Bona Lokua. "Bondeko" picks up where Toto Bona Lokua left off, yet more nuanced and finely detailed, marinated in the wisdom and experience of their individual musical adventures during the intervening years.

Crafted but without artifice, virtuosic yet spontaneous, it's a record which is both playful and profound. Sensual melodies and fluid, swaying rhythms overlap, as roots intersect and three distinctive musical personalities melt into one, their voices combining as felicitously as the exquisite harmonies of Crosby, Stills and Nash or the unique vocal layerings of Bobby McFerrin.
All three drink from the profound wellspring of Africa but represent different
musical streams and tributaries of its mighty river.

Toto, Bona and Kanza sound like they were born to play together. A summit meeting in which a shared sense of freedom and adventure shines out like a beacon. A trinity of voices entwined as one, multi-faceted and yet with a united vision. Friendship. Fraternity. Bondeko.

Press Quotes

"An early contender for the hit of the 2018 summer festival season"


Album of the Week 'Picked and strummed guitars, flute and discreet electro atmospherics provide a dreamy backdrop, with the triumvirate of voices alternating between solo and immaculate sweet harmonies – an African Crosby, Stills & Nash, if you like.'

The Observer

"A smooth and breezy showcase of vocal mastery". ***

The new Internationalist

'Bondeko, in Lingala, means fraternal friendship and the way the trio interact demonstrates this quality'

Financial Times

More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number NF39
Barcode 3663729034175
Number of items 1
Packaging type Digipak
Imported No
Weight 78g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 140mm x 5mm x 125mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. Ma Mama -
2. Naleki -
3. Youwilé -
4. Je Kango -
5. Love Train -
6. Ngum Nya Ko -
7. Thitae -
8. Tann Tanbou A -
9. M'aa Kiana -
10. Bukavu -
11. Awo -