of discs
Stock Status (?)
In Stock
Delivery Estimate
2-5 days
Classical, Choral
ECM New Series
December 1, 2014

Format: Compact Disc



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


Trio Mediaeval - three Scandinavian women whose singing produces "a sound of extraordinary and consoling beauty," says the Boston Globe - offer a collection of polyphony from the medieval to the modern titled after the North Wind, 'Aquilonis'.

On this recording one can sense a reference in the title to the Nordic roots of the singers, as well as the bracing purity of their voices; moreover, the album's repertoire travels from Iceland to Italy, from north to south like the Aquilonis wind. In creatively realising the music of one Saint Thorlak - who died in Iceland just before Christmas 1193 - Trio Mediaeval accompany their vocals with discreetly textural instrumentation. The group has also arranged 12th-century Italian chant and sings 15th-century English carols, with timeless Scandinavian folk melodies in the air, too.

From our contemporary age come pieces by the Swede Anders Jormin (best known as a leading jazz bassist), American William Brooks and Englishman Andrew Smith. Former Hilliard Ensemble tenor John Potter, in his liner notes for 'Aquilonis', aptly describes Trio Mediaeval's ability to "create a synthesis of sound and atmosphere...history and geography blending seamlessly".

The album was recorded, like four of Trio Mediaeval's previous five, at the monastery of St Gerold in the Austrian Alps - in June 2014. It's the first of the trio's discs to feature Berit Opheim, alongside Anna Maria Friman and Linn Andrea Fuglseth.

Personnel: Anna Maria Friman (voice, hardanger fiddle, melody chimes), Linn Andrea Fuglseth (voice, portable organ, melody chimes), Berit Opheim (voice, melody chimes)

More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number 4811160
Barcode 0028948111602
Number of items 1
Packaging type Jewel Case
Imported No
Weight 120g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 143mm x 11mm x 128mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. Vespers reponsory (From the Office of St. Thorlak, C14, Iceland / Arr.: Trio Mediaeval) 02:44
2. Ama (Anders Jormin) 02:47
3. Ave rex angelorum (Carol, C15, England) 02:15
4. Ecce quod natura mutat sua jura (Carol, C15, England) 04:42
5. Ave maris stella 02:32
6. Vespers antiphon and psalm I,II,III (From the Office of St. Thorlak, C14, Iceland / Arr.: Trio Mediaeval) 07:12
7. Ioseph fili David 02:37
8. Ave regina caelorum (Andrew Smith) 01:35
9. Alleluia: A newë work (Carol, C15, England) 04:47
10. Morgonljos (Anna.M.Friman / Linn.A.Fuglseth) 01:19
11. Vespers antiphon and psalm IV, V (From the Office of St. Thorlak, C14, Iceland / Arr.: Trio Mediaeval) 03:32
12. Fammi cantar l'amor (Laude, C12, Italy Arr.: Anna.M.Friman / Linn.A.Fuglseth) 02:49
13. Gud unde oss her at leve så (Melody: After Ola Vanberg, Norway Text: Unknown Arr.: Opheim) 01:56
14. Benedicti e llaudati (Laude, C12, Italy Arr.: Anna.M.Friman / Linn.A.Fuglseth) 04:40
15. Klokkeljom (Trio Mediaeval) 00:47
16. Special antiphon (From the Office of St. Thorlak, C14, Iceland) 01:55
17. Ingen vinner frem til den evige ro (Traditional) 05:04
18. Fryd dig, du Kristi brud (Traditional) 03:34
19. I hamrinum (BeritOpheim / Anna M.Friman) 01:00
20. Vale, dulcis amice (William Brooks) 03:05