Helsinki Songs

Trygve Seim Quartet

of discs
Stock Status (?)
In Stock
Delivery Estimate
2-5 days
Jazz, Contemporary
August 31, 2018

Format: Compact Disc



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


With its overt lyricism, strong themes and a sense of perpetual melodic invention, Norwegian saxophonist Trygve Seim?s new album quickly identifies itself as a classic-in-the-making.

Themes of dedication run through Seim?s Helsinki Songs album, a set of tunes composed - for the most part - in the Finnish capital, and radiating tributes in many directions. Here are songs referencing Igor Stravinsky and Jimmy Webb, pieces dedicated to each of Seim?s gifted bandmates, and tunes that tip the hat, obliquely, to Ornette Coleman and Bill Evans. The quartet plays superbly throughout, with outstanding solos from leader Seim and pianist Kristjan Randalu.

Helsinki Songs was recorded in Oslo?s Rainbow Studio in January 2018 and produced by Manfred Eicher.

Personnel: Trygve Seim (tenor and soprano saxophones), Kristjan Randalu (piano), Mats Eilertsen (double bass), Markku Ounaskari (drums)

More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number 6751580
Barcode 0602567515807
Number of items 1
Packaging type Jewel Case
Imported No
Weight 120g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 143mm x 11mm x 128mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. Sol’s Song -
2. Helsinki Song -
3. New Beginning -
4. Ciaccona Per Embrik -
5. Birthday Song -
6. Sorrow March -
7. Nocturne -
8. Randalusian Folk Song -
9. Katya’s Dream -
10. Morning Song -
11. Yes Please Both -