Purcor: Songs For Saxophone And Piano

Trygve Seim & Andreas Utnem

of discs
Stock Status (?)
Temp Out Of Stock
Delivery Estimate
5-10 days
October 18, 2010

Format: Compact Disc



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


Trygve Seim's sixth ECM recording as leader or co-leader, subtitled "Songs for saxophone and piano", is an intensely melodic album providing overdue documentation of a duo that already has a 14-year history. His partner here is fellow Norwegian, keyboard player Andreas Utnem. The disc quietly covers a lot of ground, with repertoire including new musical settings of parts of the Mass, folk songs, theatre music, improvisations, and a new version of Seim's softly-breathing meditation "Bhavana" (first heard on 'Different Rivers').

In the mid-1990s pianist-composer Andreas Utnem, working with Norway's Church City Mission foundation, invited saxophonist Seim to join him for selected church services, improvising around variations on the psalms and playing compositions by both. This developed into an informal regular 'gig' and in 2008 the players decided to record the special music they had shaped along the way. 'Purcor' was recorded at Tøyen Kirke, a church in the older part of Oslo.

From disc to disc, Seim's scope as an improviser is expanding. His saxophone ballad playing now has a tenderness and depth of feeling that has drawn comparisons with Ben Webster - although he is quick to point out that Purcor is not really a "jazz" album: "Andreas's background is quite different from my own, but there is something about his composing that brings out a 'focussing' quality in my playing. Over time we've arrived at a special simplicity and clarity in the music." Andreas Utnem has recently begun to receive international attention through his work with the trio of Norwegian folk fiddler Gjermund Larsen.

Personnel: Trygve Seim (tenor and soprano saxophones), Andreas Utnem (piano, harmonium)

Press Quotes

(4 stars) The playing is almost always exquisite...the title track typifies the songlike, folk-rootsy lyricism of the set.

The Guardian, (John Fordham), October 29, 2010

Strong improvisational element and sensuous way in which melodies are shaped and re-shaped...perhaps Seim's finest work yet for the ECM label.

Jazzwise, (Stuart Nicholson), February 2011

More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number 2743227
Barcode 0602527432274
Number of items 1
Packaging type Jewel Case
Imported No
Weight 100g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 142mm x 10mm x 125mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. Kyrie -
2. Nu Seglar Vi Inn -
3. Praeludium, Improvisation -
4. Purcor -
5. Responsorium -
6. Credo -
7. Pater Noster -
8. Bhavana -
9. Gloria, Improvisation -
10. Solrenning -
11. 312 -
12. Agnus Dei -
13. Postludium, Improvisation -
14. Når Mitt Øye Trett Av Møye -