The Rough Guide To Fado (2CD)

Various Artists

of discs
Stock Status (?)
In Stock
Delivery Estimate
2-5 days
World Music, Fado
World Music Network
January 30, 2012

Format: Compact Disc



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


The perfect introduction to one of the world's oldest styles of urban song, a beautiful selection of joyful, sorrowful and heartfelt songs, accompanied by the unique sound of the Portuguese guitar. Featuring the most famous Fado singers of today, including Mariza, Ana Moura and Carminho.

Fado was born in the bustling side-streets and alleys of old Lisbon in the early nineteenth century, and today the tradition is very much alive and kicking in the city. In steamy bars, where the music is always on offer and the drama is frequently high-pitched, strong-voiced singers and skilled guitarists tell their tales of woe and longing. Enjoy a handpicked selection of some of the finest Fado musicians, both old and new, on this engaging Rough Guide.

Bonus CD: Cristina Branco ? 'Murmurios'. Cristina Branco is one of the younger generation of fadistas who have reinvigorated the tradition in recent years. This bonus disc was her second album and is now widely respected as a jewel in the fado repertoire. This album won Branco a prestigious French award, the Choc de L'Année du Monde de la Musique, in 1999. The album title translates as 'Whispers', and Branco's voice is sensitively soft and shadowy in tone throughout.

More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number RGNET1260CD
Barcode 0605633126020
Number of items 2
Packaging type Digipak
Imported No
Weight 92g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 138mm x 9mm x 125mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. Duarte - Mistérios De Lisboa -
2. Marco Rodrigues - Acho Inúteis As Palavras -
3. Mariza - Que Deus Me Perdone -
4. Carminho - Escrevi Teu Nome No Vento -
5. Ricardo Parreira - Meditando -
6. Pedro Galveias - Eu Quero -
7. Ana Moura - Sou Do Fado, Sou Fadista -
8. Ricardo Parreira - Vira De Frielas -
9. Marco Oliveira - Lisboa Será Assim -
10. José Manuel Barreto - Ai, Margarida -
11. Joana Amendoeira - O Nome Que Tu Me Davas -
12. Vânia Duarte Feat Celeste Rodrigues - Lenda Das Algas -
13. Pedro Moutinho - Palavras Minhas -
14. Ricardo Ribeiro - Barro Divino -
15. Hélder Moutinho - Que Fado É Este Que Trago -
16. Celeste Rodrigues - Meus Olhos (Fado Menor Do Porto) -

Disc 2

Track Listing — Disc 2

Song Title Time
1. Fado Perdição -
2. Abandono -
3. As Certezas Do Meu Mais Brilhante Amor -
4. Saudade -
5. Mágoa -
6. Fim -
7. Canto Ainda Por Alguém -
8. Lírios -
9. Há Palavras Que Nos Beijam -
10. Quisera Lavar O Pensamento -
11. Murmúrios -
12. Fado Das Sedes -
13. Arc'antiga -
14. Pombas Brancas -