The Social Power Of Music (4CD)

Various Artists

of discs
Stock Status (?)
In Stock
Delivery Estimate
2-5 days
Smithsonian Folkways
February 22, 2019

Format: Compact Disc



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


Music has the power to bring people together from parties to protests to prayer, music is a powerful catalyst for celebration, for change, and for a sense of community. Through making music together, we become bigger than ourselves. Whether singing with our families and friends or with thousands of strangers in an arena, music transforms lives, engages individuals, and connects local and global communities. The social power of music chronicles the vivid, impassioned, and myriad ways in which music binds, incites, memorializes, and moves groups of people. This richly illustrated 124-page book, with 80+ tracks on 4 CD's, invites listeners into musical practices, episodes, and movements throughout the USA And beyond. These songs of struggle, devotion, celebration, and migration remind us that music has the potential to change our world.

The social power of music looks at this music through four different perspectives.:
Disc 1: Songs of struggle channels the visceral power of the fight for civil rights.
Disc 2: Sacred sounds, presents music from many religions and spiritual practices.
Disc 3: Social songs and gatherings shows how we use music to come together, often in celebration
Disc 4: Global movements looks to the use of roots music in key political movements around the world, tapping into anti-fascist verses, odes to the working class, and polemics against governmental corruption and violence.

More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number SFWCD40231
Barcode 0093074023129
Number of items 4
Packaging type Box Set
Imported No
Weight 240g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 298mm x 5mm x 298mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. We Shall Overcome - The Freedom Singers 02:09
2. This Land Is Your Land- Woody Guthrie 02:48
3. De Colores ([made] Of Colors)- Baldemar Velásquez, Aguila Negra 03:02
4. Union Maid- Bobbie Mcgee 02:13
5. If I Had A Hammer- Pete Seeger 01:54
6. Reclaim The Night-Peggy Seeger 04:33
7. Estoy Aquí (I Am Here)-Quetzal 05:21
8. Deportees (Plane Wreck At Los Gatos)-Sammy Walker 04:57
9. We Are The Children-Chris Kando IIjima, Joanne Nobuko Miyamoto, Charlie Chin  02:55
10. I Woke Up This Morning-Fannie Lou Hamer 02:36
11. I Feel Like I'm Fixin' To Die-Country Joe Mcdonald 02:59
12. El Pobre Sigue Sufriendo (The Poor Keep On Suffering)-Andrés Jiménez 03:26
13. Ballad Of The Era-Kristin Lems 04:11
14. Where Have All The Flowers Gone?-Pete Seeger 02:06
15. Blowing In The Wind-The New World Singers 02:32
16. Quihubo Raza (What's Happening, People)-Agustín Lira And Alma 03:50
17. Solidarity Forever-Joe Glazer 02:50
18. Joe Hill-Paul Robeson 03:00
19. Joaquin Murrieta-Rumel Fuentes 03:35
20. Which Side Are You On?-The Almanac Singers 02:10
21. Legal/Illegal-Ewan Maccoll, Peggy Seeger 04:21
22. It Isn't Nice-Barbara Dane, The Chambers Brothers 04:05

Disc 2

Track Listing — Disc 2

Song Title Time
1. Amazing Grace-The Old Regular Baptists 02:44
2. Come By Here-Barbara Dane, The Chambers Brothers 05:33
3. Will The Circle Be Unbroken-The Strange Creek Singers 03:39
4. Peace In The Valley-The Paramount Singers 03:50
5. Many Eagle Set Sun Dance Song-The Pembina Chippewa Singers 02:11
6. Zuni Rain Dance-Members Of Zuni Pueblo 04:41
7. Calvary-Shape-Note Singers At Stewart's Chapel 01:27
8. Northfield-The Old Harp Singers Of Eastern Tennessee 01:58
9. The Call To Prayer / Adhan-Ahmad Al Alawi 02:10
10. Zikr (Excerpt)-Sheikh Xhemail Shehu, Members Of The Prizren Rifa’i Tekke 02:45
11. Buddhist Chants And Prayers-Tu Huyen, Hai Phat, Tam Thu, Hai Dat  04:34
12. Kol Nidre-Cantor Abraham Brun 05:05
13. Dayeinu-Raasche, Alan Mills 01:47
14. Night Chant-Sandoval Begay 02:12
15. Hark, Hark-Carolers From The Black Bull, Ecclesfield, Uk 03:11
16. Swing Low, Sweet Chariot-The Princely Players 02:47
17. The Old Rugged Cross-The Paschall Brothers 05:17
18. Madre De Dolores (Mother Of Sorrows)-Hermanos De La Morada De Nuestra Señora De Dolores Del Alto 02:56
19. San Miguel (Saint Michael)-Francia Reyes 04:11
20. I'll Fly Away-Rose Maddox 02:32

Disc 3

Track Listing — Disc 3

Song Title Time
1. Party Down At The Blue Angel Club-Clifton Chenier And His Red Hot Louisiana Band  04:51
2. San Antonio Rose-Los Reyes De Albuquerque 04:51
3. Jolie Blonde (Pretty Blonde)-Austin Pitre 02:47
4. Shake Your Moneymaker-John Littlejohn 04:19
5. Beer-Drinking Polka-Flaco Jiménez, Max Baca  02:25
6. In Heaven There Is No Beer-The Goose Island Ramblers 02:32
7. Sam (Get Down)-Sam Brothers Five 04:10
8. Olden Slippers / The Butterfly Whirl-Lester Bradley And Friends 04:31
9. Sligo Indians / Paddy Clancy's / Larry Redican's / The Rambling Pitchfork-Tony Demarco 04:21
10. La Entrega De Los Novios (The Delivery Of The Newlyweds)-Lorenzo Martínez 03:46
11. Rock Dance Song (Cree/Metis)-The Pembina Chippewa Singers 02:20
12. Pow Wow Song-Chippewa Nation 02:52
13. Mary Mack-Lilly’s Chapel School, Alabama 01:58
14. Johnny Cuckoo-Janie Hunter And Children At Home 01:15
15. Rooster Call-John Henry Mealing And Group 04:00
16. Joy To The World-Elizabeth Mitchell 03:06
17. Oylupnuv Obrutch (The Broken Hoop Song) -The Golden Gate Gypsy Orchestra 02:01
18. Liberty Funeral March-The Liberty Brass Band 04:51
19. Junkanoos #1-Key West Junkanoo Band 03:07
20. The Star Spangled Banner-Unknown Orchestra 01:16
21. Mardi Gras Medley (Excerpt)-Rebirth Jazz Band 04:33

Disc 4

Track Listing — Disc 4

Song Title Time
1. Viva La Quince Brigada (Long Live The 15th Brigade)-Pete Seeger 03:04
2. Bella Ciao (Goodbye Beautiful) -Singers Of The “bella Ciao” Production Of Spoleto 01:35
3. A Desalambrar (Tear Down The Fences)-Expresión Joven 05:07
4. Muato Mua N’gola (Women Of Angola)-Lilly Tchiumba 02:34
5. Un Gigante Que Despierta (An Awakening Giant)-Luis Godoy, Grupo Mancotal 04:03
6. Hasret (Longing)-Melike Demira 11f  03:10
7. Prisioneros Somos (We Are All Prisoners) -Suni Paz 02:19
8. Funeral Do Lavrador (Funeral Of A Worker) -Zelia Barbosa 01:59
9. Izakunyatheli Afrika Verwoerd (Africa Is Going To Trample On You, Verwoerd)-South African Refugees In Tanganyika 01:52
10. The Boy With The Sunlit Smile-Mikis Theodorakis  02:48
11. Hidup Di Bui (Life In Jail)-Gambang Kromong Slendang Betawi, Kwi Ap 05:34
12. Man And Buffalo (Kon Gap Kwai)-Caravan 03:40
13. Why Need We Cry?-Cantor Abraham Brun 02:42
14. El Palomo (The Dove)-Grupo Raíz  04:06
15. Hvem Sidder Dér Bag Skærmen (The Roadmaker)-Inger Nielsen  03:08
16. Mon’ Etu Ua Kassule-Musician Supporters Of The Mpla 05:35
17. Le Temps Des Cerises (Cherry Blossom Time) -Yves Montand 04:37
18. Chongsun Arirang-Singer From Central Korea 04:03
19. The Passport-Marcel Khalifé 09:23
20. Inno Della Resistenza (Hymn Of The Resistance)-Choir Of Fln Fighters  01:28