Topic Records - The Real Sound Of Folk Music (2CD)

Various Artists

of discs
Stock Status (?)
In Stock
Delivery Estimate
2-5 days
October 20, 2017

Format: Compact Disc



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


The perfect introduction to Topic Records the worlds oldest surviving independent record label, a 2 CD set featuring 28 specially selected tracks from the labels vast catalogue.

The story of Topic is synonymous with the growth of folk as a musical and social movement in Britain and these recordings demonstrate the bridge between modern music and a traditional art form. On this 2 CD set you will find some of the most remarkable singers, songs and tunes - either drawn directly from the tradition or inspired by it.

Tracks featured include John Tam's, Unity, Steve Ashley's ,Ships of Shame, Dick Gaughan's, Both Sides the Tweed and Ewan MacColl's, Dirty Old Town.

Many of the tracks deal with social issues of the time and there are also re-workings of great traditional story songs like - Anne Briggs' Blackwater Side, Mike Watersons' Tamlyn, Nic Jones' Canadee-i-o and the majestic performances by Martin Simpson, Shirley Collins, Davy Graham, Martin Carthy, Eliza Carthy and The Watersons.

Topic also offers up June Tabor and Oysterband cover version of Joy Divisions classic Love Will Tear Us Apart.

Pentangle, Andrew Cronshaw, Brass Monkey, Vin Garbutt, Johnny Handle, Bill Caddick, The Cheviot Ranters, Cilla Fisher and Artie Tresize, Silly Sisters, Tim Van Eyken, Peter Bellamy and Oak - the list goes on - a fulfilling and haunting introduction to the great legacy of the folk tradition and Topic Records

Press Quotes

"i've been buing and scrounging Topic Records since 1954. It feels like Topic has always been there, quetly doing good work. Like a backbone".

John Peel (1999)

More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number TICD001
Barcode 0714822000017
Number of items 2
Packaging type Jewel Case
Imported No
Weight 144g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 140mm x 10mm x 125mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. Both Sides The Tweed - Dick Gaughan 02:16
2. Canadee-i-o - Nic Jones 02:16
3. Angi - Davy Graham 02:16
4. The Sweet Primeroses - Shirley Collins 02:16
5. Never Any Good - Martin Simpson 02:16
6. Wasps In The Woodpile - Andrew Cronshaw 02:16
7. The Time Has Come - Pentangle 02:16
8. Blackwater Side - Anne Briggs 02:16
9. Scarborough Fair - Martin Carthy 02:16
10. Worcester City - Eliza Carthy 02:16
11. Dirty Old Town - Ewan MacColl 02:16
12. Pace Egging Song - The Watersons 02:16
13. Hedger And Ditcher - Silly Sisters 02:16
14. Unity (Raise Your Banners High) - John Tams 02:16

Disc 2

Track Listing — Disc 2

Song Title Time
1. Love Will Tear Us Apart - June Tabor & Oysterband 02:16
2. The Handweaver And The Factory Maid - Brass Monkey 02:16
3. Ships Of Shame - Steve Ashley 02:16
4. The Land Of Three Rivers - Vin Garbutt 02:16
5. Dust - Johnny Handle 02:16
6. Tamlyn - Mike Waterson 02:16
7. Two-Fisted Heroes - Bill Caddick 02:16
8. The Ideal Schottische - The Cheviot Ranters 02:16
9. Blue Bleezin' Blind Drunk - Cilla Fisher 02:16
10. Man In The Moon - The Full English 02:16
11. Talking Dustbowl Blues - Ramblin' Jack Elliott 02:16
12. Barleycorn - Tim Van Eyken 02:16
13. When I Die - Peter Bellamy 02:16
14. Scan's Polkas - Oak 02:16