Vision & Revision: The First 80 Years Of Topic Records (2CD)

Various Artists

of discs
Stock Status (?)
Delivery Estimate
Upon Release

Format: Compact Disc

This title will be released on May 31, 2019
Pre-order now!

Price Promise: Order now, and if the price is reduced before dispatch you will pay the lowest price



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


2019 marks the 80th birthday of Topic Records, the oldest independent record label in the world. As part of its celebrations, on 31st May 2019, Topic Records will release a landmark album, 'Vision & Revision : The First 80 Years Of Topic Records' - a deluxe double CD and vinyl of the cream of British folk artists interpreting a song of their choice from Topic's vast back catalogue - the only stipulation being that the song was at some time released on Topic. Includes newly recorded, never-before-released tracks by Martin Simpson, Richard Thompson, Lankum, Peggy Seeger, John Smith, Sam Lee, Martin Carthy, Olivia Chaney, Lisa O'Neill, Oysterband, Nancy Kerr, Chris Wood, Josienne Clarke & Ben Walker, Lisa Knapp, Kitty Macfarlane, Sam Kelly & The Lost Boys, Emily Portman & Rob Harbron, Rachael McShane & The Cartographers, Eliza Carthy & Olivia Chaney and The Oldham Tinkers.

'Vision & Revision' is a unique celebration of folk music, as a crop of contemporary artists delve into Topic's treasure chest, pull out all manner and variety of ballads and broadsides and breathe new life into them.

With its origins in the Workers' Music Association, through the mid-20th century folk revival to the present day, Topic Records has established itself as not only the pre-eminent British folk music label but one widely respected throughout the world. Topic has released some of the most influential folk recordings of modern times by a host of revered artists, from Anne Briggs to Peggy Seeger to June Tabor to Ewan MacColl and many, many more.

This 20 track double CD comes housed in a special deluxe, debossed, silver foil-blocked package.

Press Quotes

<p> "Folk music never goes away. You may not hear it, but it is always there, just over your cultural horizon. It lives in families, in communities, in the villages and towns and cities, and in the hearts of the people. Each generation takes what it needs and gives what it can to the tradition, each wave of newcomers turning another furrow, sowing new seeds. For eighty years, Topic Records has played a major role in this process, ensuring the old voices are still audible and creating a space for those that hear them to make new recordings of their own. Formats come and go, but like the music, Topic endures. Long may it do so."

Billy Bragg


More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number TXCD597
Barcode 0714822055970
Number of items 2
Packaging type Slip Sleeve
Imported No
Weight 134g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 140mm x 8mm x 125mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. Beaulampkin - Martin Simpson -
2. Jack Frost - Peggy Seeger -
3. She Moves Through The Fair - John Smith -
4. The Banks Of Sweet Primeroses - Josienne Clark & Ben Walker -
5. Seven Gypsies - Oysterband -
6. Searching For Lambs - Nancy Kerr -
7. The Deserter - Sam Lee -
8. Go Your Way - Kitty Macfarlane -
9. As I Roved Out - Lisa O'Neill -
10. Fable Of The Wings - Chris Wood -

Disc 2

Track Listing — Disc 2

Song Title Time
11. Dirty Old Town - The Oldham Tinkers -
12. Workers' Song - Rachael McShane & The Cartographers -
13. The Light Bob's Lassie - Richard Thompson -
14. Polly Vaughan - Olivia Chaney -
15. Napoleon's Dream - Martin Carthy -
16. I Wish My Love Was A Cherry - Lisa Knapp -
17. Shawnee Town - Sam Kelly & The Lost Boys -
18. Bay Of Biscay - Emily Portman & Rob Harbron -
19. Nancy Of Yarmouth - Eliza Carthy & Olivia Chaney -
20. The Sea Captain - Lankum -