White Bicycles: Making Music in the 1960s

Various Artists

of discs
Stock Status (?)
Temp Out Of Stock
Delivery Estimate
5-10 days
May 29, 2006

Format: Compact Disc



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


More than any other 60s music biography Joe Boyd's 'White Bicycles' offers the real story of what it was like to be there at the time. When the summer of love got going, Joe was running the coolest club in London, the UFO; when a bunch of club regulars called Pink Floyd recorded their first single, Joe was the producer; when a young songwriter named Nick Drake wanted to give his demo tape to someone, he chose Joe Boyd.

This unique CD gathers together the full range of production work undertaken by Joe Boyd and his Witchseason production company, including several rare and previously unreleased recordings. Recordings have been licensed from all the major record labels. White Bicycles is released with full approval and co-operation from Pink Floyd, Soft Machine, Eric Clapton and the Nick Drake Estate; as well as EMI, Universal, Warners, Topic and Sony BMG. Carefully remastered. Cover artwork by Nigel Weymouth. Deluxe digipac with full-colour large format booklet. Extensive sleevenotes by Joe Boyd. Previously unpublished photographs and rare ephemera.

"This CD is a magical and insighftful overview of music making in late 1960s London in one discrete package."

More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number FLED3061
Barcode 5020393306126
Number of items 1
Packaging type Jewel Case
Imported No
Weight 100g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 142mm x 10mm x 125mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. Crossroads Eric Clapton & The Powerhouse -
2. Way Back In The 1960s The Incredible String Band -
3. Because It Wouldn't Pay Johnny Handle -
4. Spanish Ladies Medley Dave Swarbrick, Martin Carthy & Diz Disley -
5. Arnold Layne Pink Floyd -
6. Granny Takes A Trip The Purple Gang -
7. She's Gone Soft Machine -
8. If I Had A Ribbon Bow Fairport Convention -
9. Seven Yellow Gypsies Shirley Collins -
10. Chinese White The Incredible String Band -
11. Autopsy Fairport Convention -
12. The Deserter Fairport Convention -
13. Poor Boy Nick Drake -
14. The Sea Fotheringay -
15. Flowers Of The Forest Mike Heron -
16. Come Wind Come Rain Vashti Bunyan -
17. Primrose Hill John & Beverley Martyn -
18. Afraid Nico -
19. I Don't Mind The New Nadir (Previously Unreleased) -
20. Andromeda Chris Mcgregor's Brotherhood Of Breath -
21. Church Mouse Dudu Pukwana & Spear (Previously Unreleased) -
22. Way To Blue Nick Drake -
23. Brazil Geoff & Maria Muldaur -