Return Of The Mack

Warner Mack

of discs
Stock Status (?)
In Stock
Delivery Estimate
2-5 days
Jasmine Records
April 26, 2019

Format: Compact Disc



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


This Jasmine collection covers phase one of Warner Mack's career, and the hits he made in the '50s. It also features two complete 'concept albums' that Mack recorded in 1961 and 1962, featuring updated treatments of predominantly Country classics of the 1940s and 1950s. These are being released on CD for the first time ever.

A real-life, born and bred, native son of Nashville, Warner Mack enjoyed two significant spells of popularity and hits - on both the country and pop charts - almost a decade apart. In the first period self-penned tracks like 'Is It Wrong (For Loving You) and 'Roc-A-Chicka' showed that Mack's was a talent to be reckoned with. However a serious car accident put him out of action for two years in the early-mid 60s and it wasn't till 1966 that he returned to the top with 'The Bridge Washed Out'.

Some of the earlier tracks are among the first to feature what would become known as 'The Nashville Sound' in the late 1950s. However there are also a number of more traditional hillbilly tracks which were closer to the artist's own heart than the commercialised sound of his hits.

Remastered as always from the finest available sources, this is as fine an overview of Warner Mack's early career as you could hope to find. Happily Warner is still with us at the time of writing, and it's to be hoped that he will feel "Return Of The Mack" does him full justice.

More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number JASMCD3707
Barcode 0604988370720
Number of items 1
Packaging type Jewel Case
Imported No
Weight 100g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 140mm x 10mm x 120mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. Have I Told You Lately That I Love You -
2. A Satisfied Mind -
3. You're Not Easy To Forget -
4. My Shoes Keep Walking Back To You -
5. Don't Worry -
6. Bonaparte's Retreat -
7. Room Full Of Roses -
8. The Wild Side Of Life -
9. Don't Let The Stars Get In Your Eyes -
10. Send Me The Pillow You Dream On -
11. Take These Chains From My Heart -
12. Fire Ball Mail -
13. When My Blue Moon Turns To Gold Again -
14. Have You Ever Been Lonely (Have You Ever Been Blue) -
15. My Love For You -
16. Walk On By -
17. Someday (You'll Want Me To Want You) -
18. Crazy Arms -
19. Chime Bells -
20. Four Walls -
21. I Wonder Where You Are Tonight -
22. I Fall To Pieces -
23. In The Pines -
24. San Antonio Rose -
25. Roc-A-Chicka -
26. Is It Wrong (For Loving You) -
27. Lonesome For You Now -
28. Baby Squeeze Me -
29. Since I Lost You -
30. Your Fool -
31. Honky Tonk Song -
32. I'll Run Back To You -