So Long, I'm Gone: The Complete Singles A's & B's (1956-1962)

Warren Smith

of discs
Stock Status (?)
In Stock
Delivery Estimate
2-5 days
Jasmine Records
June 28, 2019

Format: Compact Disc



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


Revered for decades as one of the Kings of Memphis Rockabilly for the scintillating records he made for Sam Phillips' legendary Sun imprint, the late Warren Smith was always a country boy at heart. After the rock 'n' roll boom was over he cut some of the best hardcore country shuffles of the early 60s. It was R 'n' R that built Warren's reputation, but honky tonkin' country that gave him his hits and made him a frequent visitor to the Billboard Country Charts between 1960 and 1964.

The A and B of every single that Warren released between 1956 and 1962 can be found in this Jasmine CD - remastered, as always, from the finest available sources - along with all the non-single tracks from his first and only album from 1960, plus some quality 1950s cuts that inexplicably failed to make the cut when they were originally recorded.

Sadly Warren's personal life was chaotic to say the least. He made bad choices that impacted on his health, and eventually landed him in prison for a spell. He died while on the verge of a comeback, and before he had a chance to fully capitalise on that decade's rockabilly revival of the 1970s.

Although he's been gone a long time now, appreciation for the great records that Warren made remains at a high level. Rightly so, for these are some of the best of their kind in both categories. Whether you are hearing them for the first time or simply renewing old acquaintance, you will be doing your ears a great favour by listening.

More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number JASMCD3740
Barcode 0604988374025
Number of items 1
Packaging type Jewel Case
Imported No
Weight 100g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 140mm x 10mm x 120mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. Rock 'N' Roll Ruby -
2. I'd Rather Be Safe Than Sorry -
3. Ubangi Stomp -
4. Black Jack David -
5. Miss Froggie -
6. So Long I'm Gone -
7. I Got Love If You Want It -
8. I Fell In Love -
9. Sweet, Sweet Girl To Me -
10. Goodbye Mr. Love -
11. The Darkest Cloud -
12. Who Took My Baby -
13. Red Cadillac And A Black Moustache -
14. Stop The World -
15. Dear John -
16. Hank Snow Medley (I'm Movin' On/Golden Rocket/Rhumba Boogie) -
17. Tell Me Who -
18. Tonight Will Be The Last Night -
19. I Don't Believe I'll Fall In Love Today -
20. Cave In -
21. Whole Lotta Nothin' -
22. Odds And Ends (Bits And Pieces) -
23. The Call Of The Wild -
24. Old Lonesome Feeling -
25. (That's) Why I'm Walkin' -
26. Why Baby Why -
27. Five Minutes Of The Latest Blues -
28. Bad News Gets Around -
29. Book Of Broken Hearts -
30. 160 Lbs. Of Hurt -
31. After The Boy Gets The Girl -
32. I Still Miss Someone -
33. Kissing My Pillow -