In the Beginning (3LP)

Wes Montgomery

of discs
Stock Status (?)
Temp Out Of Stock
Delivery Estimate
5-10 days
Jazz, Bebop
Resonance Records
April 6, 2015

Format: Vinyl (LP)



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


'In the Beginning' features rare previously unreleased recordings by jazz guitar icon Wes Montgomery spanning the years 1949 to 1958. This deluxe 3-LP set includes 26 newly discovered live and studio recordings.

The LP version is presented on audiophile 180-gram vinyl mastered by engineering legend, Bernie Grundman and pressed on 12" LPs at 33 1/3 RPM by Record Technology Incorporated (R.T.I.). This hand-numbered limited edition pressing of 1,500 is housed in a slipcase with an 8-panel booklet and includes a digital download card and a collection of postcards of unpublished photos.

The set includes a complete 1955 Epic Records session produced by Quincy Jones, newly discovered 78 RPM sides with Wes as a sideman recorded for Spire Records (1949), a live recording from the home of Ervena Montgomery, Indianapolis (1956), live recordings from the Turf Club (1956), the Missile Lounge (1958) in Indianapolis, and the C&C Music Lounge in Chicago (1957).

'In the Beginning' features extensive liner notes, and meticulously designed artwork that have become Resonance Records' trademarks. The 3-LP version includes an 8-panel booklet of liner notes by journalist and noted jazz historian and biographer Ashley Kahn, legendary producer Quincy Jones, guitarist Pete Townshend of The Who, alongside rare never-before-published photos from The Montgomery Estate and friends in Montgomery's native Indianapolis.

Since Wes Montgomery's passing in 1968, only two other albums of predominantly unreleased material have been released - 'Willow Weep for Me' (Verve, 1968) and 'Echoes of Indiana Avenue' (Resonance, 2012). Resonance Records is pleased to introduce the third such archival offering with 'In the Beginning'.

More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number HLP9014
Barcode 0724101773013
Number of items 3
Packaging type Box Set
Imported No
Weight 1000g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 310mm x 20mm x 310mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. After You've Gone -
2. Fascinating Rhythm -
3. Brazil -
4. What Is There to Say ? -
5. Four -
6. Wes' Tune -
7. My Heart Stood Still -
8. How High the Moon -
9. Django -

Disc 2

Track Listing — Disc 2

Song Title Time
1. Going Down to Big Mary's -
2. I Should Care -
3. Caravan -
4. Six Bridges to Cross -
5. Ralph's New Blues -
6. Soft Winds -
7. Robbins' Nest -

Disc 3

Track Listing — Disc 3

Song Title Time
1. A Night in Tunisia -
2. Love for Sale -
3. Leila -
4. Blues -
5. Undecided -
6. Far Wes -
7. All the Things You Are -
8. King Trotter -
9. Carlena's Blues -
10. Smooth Evening -