West Coast Blues

Wes Montgomery

of discs
Stock Status (?)
Temp Out Of Stock
Delivery Estimate
5-10 days
Jazz, Bebop
Fab Four
August 22, 2011

Format: Compact Disc



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


"The best thing to happen to the guitar since Charlie Christian", as the critic Ralph J.
Gleason lauded him, John Leslie "Wes" Montgomery was born Indianapolis, Indiana,
on March 6th 1923. Coming from a musical family, he was given a 4-string guitar by
his older (bass-playing) brother Monk at the age of twelve. Even though he picked up
the basic skills on the instrument and developed a great ear early on, it was not until
Wes was 19 years old that he started playing the instrument in earnest. Inspired by
Charlie Christian, he began copying the solos and licks of the great Swing-guitarist
on a 6-string, soon developing such a versatile and virtuoso technique, that the great
band-leader Lionel Hampton hired him in 1948 ? at first, simply to play those copied
Christian-solos. Because of the stress and the insecure financial situations of life on
the road, Wes quit this band after a few years and went home to Indianapolis, where
he worked in a factory during the day and played music at night, in order to support
his family of eight. On the side, he often supported his brothers in the band "The
Mastersounds", occasionally even recording with Monk on bass and Buddy on vibes
and/or piano. After Cannonball Adderley heard Wes in a local club in Indiana, he was so
impressed by Wes' highly original, yet soulful and swinging style, the chords that come
straight from Christian and Django Reinhardt and the fiery single notes on top, that he
immediately contacted producer Orrin Keepnews, who signed Wes Montgomery to a
recording contract. After the first Trio recording with Melvin Rhyne and Paul Parker (and
after turning down an invitation to join John Coltrane's band), came a steady stream of
albums as a leader, as well as recordings with the bands of Cannonball Adderley, Jimmy
Smith and Harold Land. Wes Montgomery recorded prolifically during the Sixties, all
the way up to his early death from a heart attack at the age of 45. He remains one of
the most significant guitarists to this day, with everyone from Jimi Hendrix or George
Benson to Pat Metheny acknowledging his influence on their playing.

More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number 233330
Barcode 0885150333303
Number of items 4
Packaging type Jewel Case
Imported No
Weight 186g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 140mm x 28mm x 125mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. Round Midnight -
2. Yesterdays -
3. The End Of A Love Affair -
4. Whisper Not -
5. Ecaroh -
6. Satin Doll -
7. Missile Blues -
8. Too Late Now -
9. Jingles -
10. Airegin -
11. D-Natural Blues -
12. Polka Dots And Moonbeams -
13. Four On Six -
14. In Your Own Sweet Way -

Disc 2

Track Listing — Disc 2

Song Title Time
1. West Coast Blues -
2. Mr. Walker -
3. Gone With The Wind -
4. Movin‘ Along -
5. Tune-Up -
6. I Don‘t Stand A Ghost Of A Chance With You -
7. Sandu -
8. Body And Soul -
9. So Do It! -
10. Says You -

Disc 3

Track Listing — Disc 3

Song Title Time
1. Wes‘ Tune -
2. Monk‘s Shop -
3. Montgomeryland Funk -
4. Summertime -
5. Fingerpickin‘ -
6. Leila -
7. Far Wes -
8. Renie -
9. Hymn For Carl -
10. Old Folks -
11. Stompin‘ At The Savoy -
12. Falling In Love With Love -
13. All The Things You Are -
14. Baubles, Bangles And Beads -

Disc 4

Track Listing — Disc 4

Song Title Time
1. Billie‘s Bounce -
2. Bud‘s Beaux Arts -
3. Lois Ann -
4. Not Since Nineveh -
5. Sound Carrier -
6. Lolita -
7. Azule Serape -
8. Au Privave -
9. Never Will I Marry -
10. Compulsion -
11. Mean To Me -
12. Work Song -