of discs
Stock Status (?)
In Stock
Delivery Estimate
2-5 days
September 29, 2017

Format: Compact Disc



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


Will Noble comes from a South Pennine family of farmers and builders and is well-known to lovers of English traditional song for his rich oak baritone and his repertoire of Yorkshire songs, many of them learned at the hunt suppers of the Holme Valley Beagles during the early 1970s. He sang with the group The Holme Valley Tradition for several years, and later as a duo with John Cocking (see VT147CD 'Yon Green Banks') but is now best known as a solo singer, having appeared at many festivals and traditional singing events, and been twice invited to the USA.

Will is also a dry-stone waller with an international reputation, a craft reflected in the title of this new CD. His son Cuthbert and daughter Lydia are both keeping the family traditions of walling and singing and can be heard on several tracks providing vocal encouragement.

Here Will presents a selection of songs he's never recorded before; although many have connections with his own home ground, others were learned during his travels to folk clubs and festivals, and there are some newer pieces as well. They were never precious about the repertoire at the old singing dos," he recalls, "you could sing anything." It's a tribute to Will's natural way with a song that everything on this recording, whatever its origin, comes out sounding as if hewn from the very millstone grit of the Yorkshire Dales.

More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number VT161CD
Barcode 5060021606129
Number of items 1
Packaging type Digipak
Imported No
Weight 6170g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 140mm x 7mm x 125mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. The Brown Hare Of Whitebrook 02:32
2. Edward 02:32
3. Boys Of Marsden 03:09
4. Nothing Else To Do 01:39
5. Little Musgrave 05:32
6. It Hails, It Rains 01:37
7. Doctor Mack 03:42
8. Watercresses 03:39
9. The Outlandish Knight 04:27
10. Watter Rattle 02:29
11. Two Sisters 03:06
12. Female Cabin Boy 02:58
13. Jepson Brown 01:44
14. Walling Song -