Muleskinner Blues: The Asch Recordings, Vol. 2

Woody Guthrie

of discs
Stock Status (?)
In Stock
Delivery Estimate
2-5 days
Smithsonian Folkways
September 16, 1997

Format: Compact Disc



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


The songs on this recording, the second in a series of four, represent a selection from the vast storehouse of American folk and country songs that Woody Guthrie learned and incorporated into his early radio career and song books he sold on the air. In the early 1940s, upon coming to New York, Guthrie and frequent partner Cisco Houston recorded hundreds of songs for Folkways Records founder Moses Asch (160 alone in 1944). This series represents the best of these historic recordings. Muleskinner Blues highlights the non-original material that Guthrie recorded for Asch and includes American folk song standards, many of which became part of the American folk song canon due to Guthrie's influence. Running time 67 min, 40-page booklet includes historical and biographical notes on Woody Guthrie. Compiled and annotated by Jeff Place and Guy Logsdon. "Monumental stuff." ?CMJ New Music Report

More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number SFW40101
Barcode 0093074010129
Number of items 1
Packaging type Jewel Case
Imported No
Weight 167g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 140mm x 5mm x 125mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. Muleskinner Blues -
2. Wreck Of The Old 97 -
3. Sally Goodin' -
4. Little Black Train -
5. Who's Gonna Shoe Your Pretty Little Feet -
6. Baltimore To Washington -
7. Rubber Dolly -
8. 21 Years -
9. Sowing On The Mountain -
10. Bed On The Floor -
11. Take A Wiff On Me -
12. Stepstone -
13. Put My Little Shoes Away -
14. Hen Cackle -
15. Poor Boy -
16. Stackolee -
17. Johnny Hart -
18. Worried Man Blues -
19. Danville Girl -
20. Gambling Man -
21. Rye Straw -
22. Crawdad Song -
23. Ida Red -
24. Keep My Skillet Good And Greasy -
25. Train 45 -