This Land is Your Land: The Asch Recordings, Vol. 1

Woody Guthrie

of discs
Stock Status (?)
In Stock
Delivery Estimate
2-5 days
Smithsonian Folkways
February 18, 1997

Format: Compact Disc



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


The first in a series of four, this recording presents many of Woody Guthrie's best known songs taken from the original masters. Included here is the original version of Woody's anthem "This Land Is Your Land," which contains never-before issued lyrics. A major force in the urban folk song revival, Guthrie created an intimate portrait of America?its land and people. He has influenced many contemporary artists, among them Bob Dylan, Phil Ochs, Billy Bragg, and Bruce Springsteen. During the 1930s and 40s, Woody Guthrie wrote more than a thousand songs, recording hundreds of them for Folkways founder Moses Asch. The surviving masters now reside in the Folkways archive at the Smithsonian Institution. Running time: 72 minutes; 36-page booklet includes historical and biographical notes on Woody Guthrie. Compiled by Jeff Place and Guy Logsdon. "The single finest Guthrie Collection Available." ?Music Central

More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number SFW40100
Barcode 0093074010020
Number of items 1
Packaging type Jewel Case
Imported No
Weight 167g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 140mm x 5mm x 125mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. This Land Is Your Land -
2. Car Song -
3. Ramblin' Round -
4. Talking Fishing Blues -
5. Philadelphia Lawyer -
6. Lindbergh -
7. Hobo's Lullaby -
8. Pastures Of Plenty -
9. Grand Coulee Dam -
10. End Of The Line -
11. New York Town -
12. Gypsy Davy -
13. Jesus Christ -
14. This Land is Your Land -
15. Do-Re-Mi -
16. Jarama Valley -
17. Biggest Thing Man Has Ever Done -
18. Picture From Life`s Other Side -
19. Jesse James -
20. Talking Hard Work -
21. When That Great Ship Went Down -
22. Hard, Ain`t It Hard -
23. Going Down The Road Feeling Bad -
24. I Ain't Got Nobody -
25. Sinking Of The Reuben James -
26. Why, Oh Why? -
27. This Land Is Your Land -