Raising Our Voice


of discs
Stock Status (?)
In Stock
Delivery Estimate
2-5 days
Jazz, Contemporary
Mack Avenue
September 14, 2018

Format: Compact Disc



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


The LA-based Yellowjackets have been a creative force on the jazz scene since 1981. Their fourth Mack Avenue album, 'Raising Our Voice', once again ups the ante with bold new strides, which sees vocalist extraordinaire Luciana Souza collaborate with the group for seven songs, as well as subtly taking a resistant stand against the status quo of the cultural and political undercurrent of our times.

The Yellowjackets have consistently forged ahead in their evolving artistic statements. The band has recorded close to 30 albums, been nominated for 17 GRAMMY® Awards, and has adventurously amplified the eclectic, electro-acoustic soundscape, creating a unique jazz sound since its fusion beginnings.

The Jackets are comprised of pianist/keyboardist/co-founder Russell Ferrante, bassist Dane Alderson in his second recording with the group and drummer Will Kennedy, who joined the band in 1987 and then in 2000 took a 10-year hiatus before returning to the drum chair. As a relative outsider, Souza contributes wordless vocals as well as songs sung in Portuguese and English. She was quickly won over by the band.

"They're killers," she says. "They're so serious yet also so much fun. We laughed a lot during the sessions. Their curiosity is alive, and their joy is to make great music. I was originally going to just do three songs, but it ended up that I'm on over half the record."

The collection features three old Yellowjackets tunes arranged for a fresh ride with Souza's contributions, two co-writes with Ferrante and Souza, three new originals each for Ferrante and Mintzer, and Alderson's first original piece for the band along with two short electronics interludes.

More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number MAC1137
Barcode 0673203113725
Number of items 1
Packaging type Digipak
Imported No
Weight 100g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 142mm x 10mm x 125mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. Man Facing North 06:48
2. Mutuality 06:30
3. Everyone Else Is Taken 06:00
4. Ecuador 05:52
5. Strange Time 04:49
6. Emerge 01:00
7. Timeline 05:13
8. Quiet 05:49
9. Divert 02:03
10. Brotherly 06:34
11. Swing With It 05:01
12. In Search Of 05:12
13. Solitude 04:19