Please Note: Due to a Royal Mail Service Outage affecting all International/EU/USA packages, orders shipping outside the UK are currently heavily delayed.

THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

Rooted (2CD Deluxe Edition)

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:
Rooted (2CD Deluxe Edition)
Rooted (2CD Deluxe Edition)


Singer, songwriter and guitar virtuoso Martin Simpson will release his brand new studio album Rooted on August 30. Produced by Andy Bell and recorded in Sheffield and Oxfordshire, Rooted will be available on CD, LP and digital with the deluxe 2CD and deluxe digital versions including a bonus disc of instrumentals, Seeded.

Summing up the themes of his new album, Martin says: "The music and songs embrace nature and travel, mental health, real life stories, loss, politics and history... and the threads that bind all this together can be followed back a long way, to 1965 when I got my first guitar and started to soak up material and ideas at a very rapid rate."

Rooted features an array of stellar guest musicians, including Nancy Kerr (fiddle and viola), Andy Cutting (melodeon and diatonic accordion), Liz Hanks (cello), John Smith (electric guitar and vocals), Ben Nicholls (string bass and electric bass guitar), Julie Matthews (vocals), Alan Barnes (clarinet), Max Simpson (vocals), Amy Smith (vocals), Chris While (vocals) and Tom A Wright (drums and percussion). Richard Hawley and Dom Flemons contribute backing vocals and bones respectively to first single 'Neo'. As well as vocals, Martin himself plays banjola, 5-string banjo, 6-string fretless banjo, electric bass guitar and electric and resonator guitars!


  1. Name
  2. Trouble Brought Me Here
  3. Kimbie
  4. Born Human
  5. Ken Small
  6. Hills Of Shiloh
  7. Henry Gray
  8. Who's Going To Shoe Your Pretty Little Foot?
  9. Queen Jane
  10. Joe Bowers
  11. Fool Me Once
  12. Kingfisher
  13. Neo
  14. More Than Enough
  15. Arbutus Turnaround
  16. A Blues
  17. Bonny Kate
  18. Mama, It Ain't Long
  19. Queen Jane (Instrumental)
  20. Waenglapiau
  21. Who's Going To Shoe Your Pretty Little Foot? (Instrumental)
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite