THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSICLtd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | BoxSets


Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:


Two CD definitive collection of tracks from The Balham Alligators, legendary London 80's/90's live circuit band that mixed Rock 'n' Roll, Cajun, Country and Rhythm 'n' Blues. Tracks are collated from the albums, 'The Balham Alligators,' Live At The Half Moon,' 'Life In The Bus Lane' and 'Gateway To The South.' With the exception of tracks from 'Gateway To The South,' this is the first time ever that these recordings have been made available on CD. In the days before personal computers and the Internet, music was live-led, and anyone who went on to become anyone would have started out by playing live and building up a following. On the London pub circuit, Balham Alligators, were top of the Premier League. The original line-up consisted of Geraint Watkins, Robin McKidd, Kieran O'Connor, Arthur Kitchener, and Gary Rickard. The Alligators played a hybrid blend of musical styles, including Rock 'n' Roll', Blues, R&B, Celtic Folk, Swamp-Pop, Country, Swing, Cajun & Zydeco. The pressure of constant touring began to take its toll with the continued ill-health and eventual death of Kieran O'Connor, the departure of Kitchener and Ron Kavana, and despite the recruitment of Pete Dennis to replace Kitchener convinced the remaining members it was time to call it a day. The following years were spent pursuing individual projects with Watkins and Rickard working with Charlie Hart as, Rickard, Watkins & Hart, with Watkins eventually leading his own outfit, The Wobblers, in 1992. Robin McKidd formed The Companions of The Rosy Hours a western-swing band. Despite the four years since the original band's demise, McKidd was still receiving offers of work for the Alligators, persuading Watkins and Rickard to try out a few gigs with The Wobblers as a backing band, it became apparent that the Alligators were still a viable concern. Bolstered with morale and momentum they recruited session musician, Bobby Irwin on drums and ex-Chilli Willi and the Red Hot Peppers' bass guitarist Paul Riley and by the latter half of 1995 they recorded Gateway To The South (1996) and followed by Cajun Dance Party (1997).


  1. Name
  2. Balham Two-Step
  3. Hey-ho, Ho-ho
  4. Sugar Bee
  5. Tennessee Blues
  6. Oh Siobhan
  7. Let's Dance
  8. Louisiana
  9. Scotland/Allons a Lafayette
  10. Tacos
  11. Little Liza Jane
  12. Hobo Blues/Balham Two step
  13. Oh Marie
  14. Six Days On The Road
  15. Lawdy Miss Clawdy
  16. Caledonia
  17. White Lightning
  18. Diggy Liggy Lo
  19. Let's Go To The Hop
  20. Hobo Blues
  21. Balham Two-Step
  22. Sacre Bleu
  23. Cajun Walk
  24. If The Swamp Don't Get You
  25. Big Mamou
  26. I Don't Want To Be In Love
  27. Love Has No Pride
  28. Alligators Grinning
  29. It's My Own Business
  30. Diggy Liggy Lo
  31. What Have You Got To Lose?
  32. Fine Fine Fine
  33. Feel Like A Fool
  34. Allons Rock 'n' Roll
  35. Bayou Teche
  36. Gotta Have Money
  37. Malheureuse
  38. Big Bad Dog
  39. Secret Love
  40. Cash On The Barrel-Head
  41. Too Much
  42. The Last Waltz
  43. Hot Rod
  44. Honky Tonk
  45. Johnny B Goode
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock