THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Labour Of Lust

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:
Labour Of Lust
Labour Of Lust


Welcome reissue of this classic 1979 album that found Nick Lowe with cohorts Dave Edmunds, Terry Williams and Billy Bremner, collectively known as Rockpile one of the hottest bands on the planet at the time. Includes Nick's biggest hit in 'Cruel To Be Kind', that still picks up regular radio plays, along with other standout tracks such as 'Cracking Up', 'American Squirm' and 'Without Love'. A bonus track, 'Basing Street', has also been added. It comes in a digipack format with original artwork from noted designer Barney Bubbles with fabulous period pictures. The booklet note is by Will Birch with recoillections from Nick Lowe. Full press and promo accompanies this release with reviews already guaranteed in Mojo, Uncut, Classic Rock and Record Collector, nationals are searching for space. Radio support pedged from Radcliffe/Maconie, Johnnie Walker and more. By mid-1978 'Dave Edmunds' Rockpile', or 'Nick Lowe's Rockpile' depending on who was that week's headiest honcho, had consolidated their sound and guaranteed a top night out. For the uninitiated, imagine a sort of Beatles-with-muscles, due in no small part to the thundering, rock-solid drums of Terry Williams and the fretboard dexterities of Billy Bremner and Dave Edmunds. Abetted by bassist Nick Lowe, the group boasted three lead vocalists and a dependable song supply chain. Labour Of Lust was released in June 1979 in a Barney Bubbles-designed package. Rockpile undertook an extensive UK tour and then took off once again for the USA, where they opened for Blondie. Reflecting on the Labour Of Lust era, Nick says, "Arriving in America and hearing 'Cruel To Be Kind' on several Los Angeles radio stations was a trip".


  1. Name
  2. Cruel To Be Kind
  3. Cracking Up
  4. Big Kick, Plain Scrap
  5. American Squirm
  6. Born Fighter
  7. You Make Me
  8. Skin Deep
  9. Switch Board Susan
  10. Endless Grey Ribbon
  11. Without Love
  12. Dose Of You
  13. Love So Fine
  14. Basing Street (bonus track)
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock