THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

The Old Magic

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:
The Old Magic
The Old Magic


"I'm sixty-one years old now, Lord I never thought I'd see 30," Nick Lowe sings on "Checkout Time," a song from his first new studio album in over four years, 'The Old Magic,' set for September release on Proper. The line cuts right to the quick. For though he spent his 20s "busy not fitting into three successive movements: pub rock, punk and new wave", Lowe has mined fertile new creative ground in recent years and the eleven tracks on 'The Old Magic' dig deeper still. 'The Old Magic' was recorded in London with Lowe's crack backing band anchored by Geraint Watkins (keyboards), Steve Donnelly (guitar), and Robert Treherne (a.k.a. Bobby Irwin, drums). Additional musicians include Ron Sexsmith, Paul Carrack, and Jimmie Vaughan among others. The album was co-produced by Lowe, Neil Brockbank, and Treherne. Amidst urbanely insistent grooves ("Sensitive Man"), and spare-yet-imposing shuffles (the aforementioned "Checkout Time"), 'The Old Magic' features three exceptional, recently road-tested Lowe ballads - album opener "Stoplight Roses," "House for Sale" and "I Read A Lot." Then there's "Restless Feeling," a shimmering dance tune worthy of the roller rink that Lowe wrote for a fictional band he calls Coastline. As is his custom, Lowe also peppers 'The Old Magic' with three covers - by Elvis Costello, Tom T. Hall and Jeff West - that fit seamlessly with his originals.


  1. Name
  2. Stoplight Roses
  3. Checkout Time
  4. House For Sale
  5. Sensitive Man
  6. I Read A Lot
  7. Shame On The Rain
  8. Restless Feeling
  9. The Poisoned Rose
  10. Somebody Cares For Me
  11. You Don't Know Me At All
  12. 'Till The Real Thing Comes Along
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock