THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Seeing Things

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:
Seeing Things
Seeing Things


Donegal native and Dublin resident, Kevin Doherty has enjoyed a dual career over the last two decades - both as a solo artist and member of the folk supergroup, Four Men & A Dog. While his work with the latter has tended towards a more exuberant and eclectic blend of trad, folk and Americana, his own work is more typical singer-songwriter fare. Featuring guest appearances from Charley Webb of the Webb Sisters, Lisa O'Neill and the Arco String Quartet, 'Seeing Things' continues Doherty's collaboration with Michael Keeney and follows on from 2010's acclaimed album 'Telegraph'. 'Seeing Things' comprises ten new songs written by Kevin and arranged by Michael. The record deals with what we all have to deal with, namely 'coming to terms' with this world, the daily battle and the constant unfolding. Doherty moves beyond the temporal to a place that allows him a conversation with Jesus and a chat with John Henry, where he transforms himself into a bird in an act of defiance and where he observes Cleopatra's arrival into the eternal city from a window in the Gresham hotel. The album owes a debt to Seamus Heaney and for much more than just a title. Lyrically and melodically he mines a similar seam to the likes of Leonard Cohen, Tom Waits, Randy Newman and Van Morrison, with no shortage of poetic soul-searching, introspection and a little social commentary. In the past, Doherty has worked and recorded with members of The Band, including Rick Danko, Garth Hudson and Levon Helm, in the latter's Woodstock studio.


  1. Name
  2. To Begin
  3. Esplendido Corazon
  4. Poor Boys
  5. I'm Going Now
  6. Seeing Things
  7. I Wish I Was On A Train
  8. New York City
  9. I Saw The Rose
  10. Rambling Irishman
  11. Red Sun
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock