THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Aztec Jazz (With The Norwegian Wind Ensemble)

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
Aztec Jazz (With The Norwegian Wind Ensemble)
Aztec Jazz (With The Norwegian Wind Ensemble)


Years ago Russell and Dave Alvin, were tagged as the architects of what came to be known as "Americana" music, with their Merle Haggard tribute "Tulare Dust," the record which initiated the Americana charts in America, and remained number one for a year. Aztec Jazz moves Americana into a new realm. For over three decades and 28 album releases Tom Russell has continued to live up to his status as (re: Washington Post) "one of the greatest songwriters of our time." Aztec Jazz was recorded as a live concert in Halden, Norway in May of 2012 with the world-renown 32 piece Norwegian Wind Ensemble and guitarist Thad Beckman. Russell's classic songs: St. Olav's Gate, Nina Simone, Guadalupe, Stealing Electricity, Goodnight Juarez and others...are performed on acoustic guitars against a lush backdrop of oboes, trumpets, saxophones, French horns, trombones and percussion. This larger, ethereal canvas brings Miles Davis' Sketches of Spain to mind. The award winning Swedish composer Mats Halling wrote the orchestral parts.


  1. Name
  2. Love Abides
  3. Nina Simone
  4. East Of Woodstock, West Of Vietnam
  5. Goodnight Juarez
  6. Criminology
  7. Guadaloupe
  8. Stealing Electricity
  9. Finding You
  10. Mississippi River Running Backwards
  11. St. Olav's Gate
  12. Jai Alai
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock