THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Arne Nordheim: Complete Accordion Works

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:
Arne Nordheim: Complete Accordion Works
Arne Nordheim: Complete Accordion Works


Norwegian accordionist Frode Haltli is held in the highest regard world-wide for his innovative work over the past 10 years, and has been involved in several successful albums for the German label ECM. On this Simax release he presents the first recording ever of the complete works for accordion by his fellow countryman Arne Nordheim. The disc also features the Norwegian Radio Orchestra under conductor Christian Eggen, as well as percussionist Hans-Kristian Kjos Sørensen and electric guitarist Raoul Björkenheim.

Frode Haltli began playing the accordion at the age of seven. His debut CD Looking on Darkness was released on the prestigious German label ECM in 2002. Further releases have included the albums Passing Images where he is joined by trumpeter Arve Henriksen, viola player Garth Knox and vocalist Maja Solveig Kjelstrup Ratkje, as well as Yeraz on which he performs with saxophonist Trygve Seim. Haltli has played as a soloist with orchestras worldwide and at contemporary music events in Warsaw, Witten and Huddersfield, as well as major jazz, classical and world music festivals. He has established links with several composers, among them Maja Solveig Kjelstrup Ratkje, Bent Sørensen, Rolf Wallin, Atli Ingólfsson, Hans Abrahamsen, Jo Kondo and Sam Hayden.

Personnel: Frode Haltli (accordion), The Norwegian Radio Orchestra, Christian Eggen (conductor on 'Spur'), Raoul Björkenheim (electric guitar on 'Signals'), Hans-Kristian Kjos Sørensen (percussion on 'Signals')


  1. Name
  2. Spur (1975) for solo accordion and orchestra
  3. Signals (1967) for accordion, electric guitar and percussion, I
  4. II
  5. III
  6. IV
  7. V
  8. VI
  9. Dinosauros (1971) for accordion and tape
  10. Flashing (1986) for solo accordion
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock