THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

Always a First Time

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:
Always a First Time
Always a First Time


Double-CD set from saxophonist Martin Speake and his like-minded trio - made up of guitarist Mike Outram and drummer Jeff Williams. 'Always a First Time' is a testimony to his musical sophistication, depth of knowledge, and integrity. The album comes handsomely packaged in a gatefold digipack.

Martin has dedicated each song to a friend, mentor, or someone who has inspired him. Tributes to Fidel Castro, John Coltrane, Charlie Parker, L Subramanian appear alongside, Simon Purcell, Tom Skinner, Mike Outram, Martin's father John, mother Betty and daughter Becky.

Forget spin and hype, posturing, pseudo intellectualism, and pretence. This is a world-class performance by anyone's standard. There are moments of breathtaking beauty, heart- wrenching pathos, and breadth of imagination. This album, perhaps more than any of Martin's previous recordings, reminds us that in him we have a most undervalued treasure on the UK scene, and that Martin Speake is one of the most lyrical and inventive jazz musicians in Europe.

Personnel: Martin Speake (alto saxophone), Mike Outram (guitar), Jeff Williams (drums)


  1. Name
  2. Always a First Time
  3. Tom
  4. Bewitched, Bothered and Bewildered
  5. O Mio Babbino Caro
  6. In Code
  7. Keep in Touch
  8. Country Boy
  9. If I Loved You
  10. Ramshackle
  11. Meditation
  12. 15 Years Too Long
  13. Where Are You?
  14. Best Laid Plans
  15. Folk Song for Paul
  16. Secret Wood
  17. Twister
  18. Meditation
  19. Wait For It
  20. When Your Lover Has Gone
  21. Lullaby
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite