THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSICLtd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | BoxSets

Today Belongs To Me ~ The Complete Recordings 1977-1980

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Brilliant Case (Jewel Case size, Holds 2 CDs)
Catalog Number:
Today Belongs To Me ~ The Complete Recordings 1977-1980
Today Belongs To Me ~ The Complete Recordings 1977-1980


  • After witnessing the Birmingham leg of The Clash’s White Riot tour in the spring of 1977, Coventry rock band Midnight Circus adopted a more streamlined, urgent sound and a more punk-friendly name. As The Flys, they issued a self-financed five-track EP at the end of the year before signing with EMI on the back of a tour with Buzzcocks.


  • Over the next three years, The Flys were responsible for a dazzling run of witty, supremely melodic, endlessly inventive singles and two superb albums, “Waikiki Beach Refugees” and “Own”, with the latter standing some forty years later as the Great Lost Album of the pop-punk era.


  • However, a lack of commercial success and endless internal bickering saw guitarist, singer and chief songwriter Neil O’Connor pull the plug in mid-1980 to join sister Hazel – who’d been spotted while supporting The Flys at a Marquee Club gig - during her rise to prominence with the film Breaking Glass.


  • Today Belongs To Me is the first complete anthology of a band that, despite critical acclaim and major label support, somehow fell through the cracks. It includes every known studio recording – including that early pre-EMI EP – as well as nine previously unreleased, from-the-masters studio demos, with two early versions of 1979 single ‘Living In The Sticks’ joined by seven previously-unheard late Seventies songs in the classic Flys tradition.


  • Presented in 2-CD digipak format, and featuring a new essay on the band that includes numerous quotes from Neil O’Connor, Today Belongs To Me is the definitive document of the greatest pop-punk band never to score a Top Thirty single.


  1. Name
  2. We Dont Mind The Rave
  3. Beverley
  4. Looking For New Hearts
  5. Shes The One
  6. Monsoon Sky
  7. Fun City
  8. Dont Moonlight On Me
  9. Some Kind Of Girl
  10. I Dont Know
  11. Waikiki Beach Refugees
  12. Saturday Sunrise
  13. Dark Nights
  14. Love And A Molotov Cocktail
  15. Can I Crash Here?
  16. Me And My Buddies
  17. Just For Your Sex
  18. Civilization
  19. Fun City (Single Version)
  20. E.C.4.
  21. Waikiki Beach Refugees (Single Version)
  22. Beverley (Edited Single Version)
  23. Name Dropping
  24. Fly V. Fly
  25. Adrian (Dont Call Me Jimmy)
  26. Ill Survive
  27. Living In The Sticks (First Demo Version)
  28. Lets Drive
  29. Energy Boy
  30. Fascinate Me
  31. Talking To The Wall
  32. 16 Down
  33. Fortunes
  34. Night Creatures
  35. When 2 And 5 Make 9
  36. Undercover Agent Zero
  37. Cheap Days
  38. Walking The Streets
  39. Through The Windscreen
  40. Freezing
  41. Frenzy Is 23
  42. We Are The Lucky Ones
  43. Living In The Sticks
  44. Night Creatures (Single Version)
  45. Lois Lane
  46. Today Belongs To Me
  47. What Will Mother Say?
  48. Undercover Agent Zero (Single Version)
  49. Come On Stupid
  50. Program
  51. Down Your End Of The Phone
  52. Hang On
  53. I Say
  54. Living In The Sticks (Second Demo Version)
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock