THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSICLtd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | BoxSets

Brand New Day ~ The Lenox / Atlantic & Roulette Recordings (1962-1970): 5CD Clamshell Box

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:


The late Esther Phillips (1935-1984) has often been considered one of the ‘unsung’ pioneers in the world of R&B, stretching back to the early ‘50s when as a child star working with famed bandleader Johnny Otis, she enjoyed a run of chart-topping singles at the age of 15, making her the youngest female artist to ever have an No. 1 R&B hit at the time. The Texas-born vocalist returned in 1962 with a soulful version of the country hit, ‘Release Me’ for Lenox Records, subsequently signing with Atlantic Records for whom she recorded a total of four full albums between 1964-1970 with a brief spell at Roulette Records in 1969.

Produced by SoulMusic Records founder David Nathan (who first met Esther in 1965), “Brand New Day – The Lenox/Atlantic & Roulette Recordings” is a sumptuous first-of-its-kind 5-CD box set, consisting of (102) tracks of Esther’s work in a variety of different musical settings, sequenced by session and containing a number of previously unreleased cuts as well as non-album singles making their CD debut. An 8,000-word informative and extensive essay by renowned UK writer Charles Waring, alongside superb mastering by Nick Robbins and first class artwork by Roger Williams make this box set an overdue celebration of Esther Phillips’ glorious artistry, in particular as a commemoration of her passing in August, 1984 at the age of 48.


  • Disc 1: AM I THAT EASY TO FORGET covers Esther’s recordings for Lenox Records including her 1962 hit version of ‘Release Me’, her sole LP for the label (reissued by Atlantic in 1966 as “The Country Side Of Esther Phillips”) plus nine non-album tracks including two duets with ‘Big Al’ Downing, most making their digital debut alongside Esther’s first recordings for Atlantic.
  • Disc 2: JUST SAY GOODBYE (titled after the popular UK Northern soul track) includes Esther’s first two albums for Atlantic, 1965’s “And I Love Him!”, the title track of which yielded her US hit cover of the Lennon & McCartney song and the 1966 LP “Esther Phillips Sings”, with big band arrangements by Oliver Nelson, Ray Ellis & Jimmy Wisner.
  • Disc 3: TOO LATE TO WORRY, TOO BLUE TO CRY features Atlantic recordings cut between 1966-1967, primarily singles’ sessions with a previously unreleased track (‘Watch Dog’) from Esther’s only session in Memphis and eight 1966 Nesuhi Ertegun-helmed, Onzy Matthews-arranged tracks including the previously unreleased ‘Rocks In My Bed’; as well as the six tracks from Esther’s 1969 sessions for Roulette Records.
  • Disc 4: I’M GETTIN’ ‘LONG ALRIGHT is the first-ever


  1. Name
  2. I Can't Help It
  3. Am I That Easy To Forget
  4. Be Honest With Me
  5. I Really Don't Want To Know
  6. I've Forgotten More Than You'll Ever Know About Him
  7. Just Out Of Reach
  8. No Headstone On My Grave
  9. Why Should We Try Anymore
  10. After Loving You
  11. I'd Fight The World
  12. Release Me
  13. A Lover's Hymn
  14. Don't Feel Rained On
  15. God Bless The Child
  16. Half A Heart
  17. Why Was I Born
  18. Don't Let Me Go
  19. While It Lasted
  20. You Never Miss Your Water (Till The Well Runs Dry) - With Big Al Downing
  21. If You Want It (I've Got It) With Big Al Downing
  22. Hello Walls
  23. Mojo Hannah
  24. I Saw Me
  25. Double Crossin' Blues - With Jimmy Ricks
  26. If You Love Me, Really Love Me
  27. Make Believe Dreams
  28. Too Soon To Know
  29. You're The Reason I'm Living
  30. Out Of The Blue
  31. Makin' Whoopee
  32. Shangri-La
  33. I Wish You Love
  34. Tis Autumn
  35. People
  36. The Girl From Ipanema
  37. Medley: Moonglow / A Theme From Picnic
  38. And I Love Him
  39. Some Things You Never Get Used To
  40. Let Me Know When It's Over
  41. I Could Have Told You
  42. He Touched Me
  43. You Can't Go Home Again
  44. The Shadow Of Your Smile
  45. The Party's Over
  46. A Taste Of Honey
  47. It's All Right With Me
  48. Just Say Goodbye
  49. As Tears Go By
  50. Ups And Downs
  51. Every Time We Say Goodbye
  52. Let There Be Love
  53. Crazy He Calls Me
  54. When A Woman Loves A Man
  55. Somebody Else Is Taking My Place
  56. Fever
  57. Try Me
  58. When Love Comes To The Human Race
  59. C.C. Rider
  60. Cherry Red
  61. Confessin' The Blues
  62. I'm Gettin' 'Long Alright
  63. Rocks In My Bed (Previously Unreleased)
  64. In The Evening
  65. Romance In The Dark
  66. I Wonder
  67. Cheater Man
  68. I'm Sorry
  69. Watch Dog (Previously Unreleased)
  70. Too Late To Worry, Too Blue To Cry
  71. I'm In The Mood For Love (Moody's Mood For Love)
  72. Tonight, I'll Be Staying Here With You
  73. Sweet Dreams
  74. Too Much Of A Man (To Be Tied Down)
  75. Nobody But You
  76. Don't Let Me Lose This Dream (Live)
  77. And I Love Him (Live)
  78. I Love Paris (Live)
  79. Cry Me A River Blues (Live)
  80. I'm Gettin' 'Long Alright (Live)
  81. Release Me (Live)
  82. If It's The Last Thing I Do (Live)
  83. Makin' Whoopee (Live)
  84. Shangri-La (Live)
  85. Please Send Me Someone To Love (Live)
  86. Just In Time (Live) (Previously Unreleased)
  87. Bye Bye Blackbird (Live Outtake) (Previously Unreleased)
  88. Fancy (Live) (Previously Unreleased)
  89. Bad News Blues Aka Medley: Blow Top Blues/Jelly Jelly Blues/Long John Blues (Live Outtake) (Previously Unreleased)
  90. Don't Let Me Lose This Dream (Live Outtake) (Previously Unreleased)
  91. Feel Like I Want To Cry Aka Feel Like I Wanna Cry (Live) (Previously Unreleased)
  92. Please Send Me Someone To Love (Live Outtake) (Previously Unreleased)
  93. It Could Happen To You Aka Look What Happened To Me (Live)
  94. A Woman Will Do Wrong
  95. Catch Me I'm Falling
  96. Some Cats Know
  97. Set Me Free
  98. Brand New Day
  99. I'm In Love
  100. Just Like A Fish
  101. Tomorrow Night
  102. All God Has Is Us
  103. He Knows What To Do For Me
  104. Crazy Love

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock