THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Always: The Warner-Reprise Recordings (1987-1991): 3CD Clamshell Boxset

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:
Always: The Warner-Reprise Recordings (1987-1991): 3CD Clamshell Boxset
Always: The Warner-Reprise Recordings (1987-1991): 3CD Clamshell Boxset


  • Already established as consistent hit-makers and dynamic live performers, Atlantic Starr – formed in 1976 in upstate New York, with a nucleus of three brothers, Jonathan, David and Wayne Lewis – were riding the quest of a wave of success in 1986 with the pop/R&B single “Secret Lovers” from the certified-gold LP “As The Band Turns” for A&M Records. The record’s success occurred just as the group – slimmed down from its original nine-member line-up to a quintet included the Lewis brothers, longtime member Joseph ‘Joey’ Phillips and new female lead singer, Barbara Weathers – had negotiated a new recording contract with Warner Brothers Records.
  • SoulMusic Records is proud to present a 3-CD deluxe box set consisting of the two albums the group cut for Warner Brothers, 1987’s ALL IN THE NAME OF LOVE, the 1989 set WE’RE MOVIN’ ON and LOVE CRAZY, a third LP recorded for the Warners’ imprint, Reprise Records in 1991, all with primary production by David & Wayne Lewis, and co-production by Jonathan Lewis. Extensive liner notes from renowned UK-based writer Charles Waring include new quotes from Jonathan Lewis and Rachel Oliver-Cobbin (the female lead vocalist for the Reprise album), stellar mastering from Nick Robbins and great artwork from Roger Williams make this reissue (produced by founder David Nathan) a ‘must have’ for Atlantic Starr’s global audience.
  • Disc 1 is an expanded edition of ALL IN THE NAME OF LOVE, a US-certified gold LP that includes the now-timeless classic ‘Always’, a No. 1 pop and R&B single for the group, their biggest crossover hit and an international best-seller which reached No. 3 on the UK charts. Other standout tracks include the upbeat ‘One Lover At A Time’, a US Top 10 R&B single; the album’s title track, a soulful ballad penned by famed songwriter Sam Dees; and, included on an international version of the 1987 CD, ‘Armed And Dangerous’, produced by Maurice White (of EW&F fame) and recorded by Atlantic Starr for the film of the same name. Bonus tracks consist of extended versions of ‘One Lover At A Time’ (remixed by Arthur Baker), ‘Let The Sun In’ (remixed by Bruce Forrester) and single edits of ‘All In The Name Of Love’ and ‘Always’.
  • Disc 2 consists of an expanded edition of WE’RE MOVIN’ UP, with Porscha Martin replacing Barbara Weathers as lead female vocalist, boasted another Atlantic Starr classic, ‘My First Love’ which topped the US R&B charts in 1989. While the album did not achieve the same level of sales success as its predecessor, notable cuts include ‘My Sugar’ (a US Top 30 R&B single) and the uptempo ‘Bring It


  1. Name
  2. One Lover At A Time
  3. You Belong With Me
  4. Females
  5. Don't Take Me For Granted
  6. Always
  7. Armed And Dangerous (From The Motion Picture Soundtrack Armed And Dangerous)
  8. Let The Sun In
  9. Thankful
  10. I'm In Love
  11. All In The Name Of Love
  12. My Mistake
  13. Interlude
  14. One Lover At A Time (Extended Version)
  15. Let The Sun In (Extended Remix)
  16. All In The Name Of Love (Single Version)
  17. Always (Single Edit)
  18. Under Your Spell
  19. Bring It Back Home Again
  20. I'm In Love With You
  21. Don't Start The Fire
  22. Love Ain't Fair
  23. My First Love
  24. Woman's Touch
  25. Friends
  26. We're Movin' Up
  27. My Sugar
  28. I Can't Wait
  29. You Deserve The Best
  30. Bring It Back Home Again (Joe Smooth Extended Mix)
  31. Bring It Back Home Again (Joe Smooth Underground Mix)
  32. My First Love Extended Mix
  33. My First Love (7" Edit)
  34. I Can't Wait
  35. What's Good For You
  36. Love Crazy
  37. Hold On
  38. Lookin' For Love Again
  39. Come Lover
  40. You Hit The Spot
  41. Masterpiece
  42. Girl, Your Love's So Fine
  43. My Special Lover
  44. Unconditional Love

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock