THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

This Better Be Good

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:
This Better Be Good
This Better Be Good


Peter Donovan is an astute musical storyteller.

His perceptive songs span genres and feature narratives based on both real-life and fictitious characters, written with a contemplative heart. After finding success and a dedicated fanbase with Seattle's All The Real Girls and his side project The Rose Petals (alongside Elijah Ocean), Donovan returns in 2022 with his first proper solo album, 'This Better Be Good'.

His previous releases spun expertly-crafted character sketches that earned plaudits from Paste Magazine, Consequence of Sound, American Songwriter, and more. With 'This Better Be Good', Donovan spreads his wings, combining the plaintive soul of indie rock, the heartfelt sincerity of Americana, and the stirring studio pageantry of '70s singer-songwriters, drawing them together to explore more intimate depths.

'This Better Be Good' is Donovan's most personal effort yet; a loose concept record about the ups and downs of an ultimately doomed romance between two people. The songs are more reflective than bitter; more nostalgic than sad. It's an album about learning and growing from lived experiences and reflecting on past failures in the interest of future successes. Donovan has managed to create an album that is sonically nostalgic and modern at once, both soul-stirring and dripping with heartache. It's a roadmap of his past seen through fresh eyes, and a triumphant first step in this new chapter.


  1. Name
  2. This Better Be Good
  3. Sweet Trouble
  4. You Told Me Not To Call (I'm Wasted)
  5. Goodbye For Now
  6. Phone Call From A Ghost
  7. White Lies
  8. I Wont Just Stand There
  9. Gonna Miss You
  10. In Another Life
  11. Don't Drag Me Down
  12. If I Knew Then
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite