THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Rebel Years (1962-1977)

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
Rebel Years (1962-1977)
Rebel Years (1962-1977)


A 15-song collection featuring John Duffeys solo work from the formative years of both the Country Gentlemen and early Seldom Scene. John Duffey is recognized as probably the single most important figure in the history of contemporary bluegrass music, known not only for his great tenor voice but for his ability to select and arrange material that appealed to both traditionalists as well as a new, emerging young crowd. As a founding member of both the Country Gentlemen and Seldom Scene, most of Duffey's recorded work was in a group context. But he also cut the occasional solo, and Rebel has gathered up 15 of these gems that show John in his prime and at his best. Some of the songs include memorable Gents recordings like Bringing Mary Home, This Morning at Nine and Bob Dylans Girl from the North Country as well as the Scene's Reason for Being and Small Exception of Me. In addition, two early Country Gentlemen classicsThe Young Fisherwoman and The School House Firemake their debut on a Rebel CD for the first time.


  1. Name
  2. Girl From The North Country
  3. The Young Fisherwoman
  4. Reason For Being
  5. Bringing Mary Home
  6. 500 Miles
  7. I Haven't Got The Right To Love You
  8. Falling Leaves
  9. The School House Fire
  10. Heaven
  11. Some Old Day
  12. Silence Or Tears
  13. Small Exception Of Me
  14. This Morning At Nine
  15. I'll Be There Mary Dear
  16. I'm Working On A Road
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock