Please Note: Due to a Royal Mail Service Outage affecting all International/EU/USA packages, orders shipping outside the UK are currently heavily delayed.

THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

Living in the South

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:


Big John Talley and singer Starlett Boswell have had an amazing run since initially connecting just over three years ago. That fact was reaffirmed with the release of their sweetly sentimental single "Straight 58," a critically acclaimed effort that served as a prelude to their much-anticipated Rebel Records album debut, the tellingly titled 'Living In The South'. A follow-up to the pair's highly praised initial entry, 'Till The End Of The Road', 'Living In The South' affirms their standing as a truly dynamic duo that can claim special standing in today's highly competitive bluegrass realms. The album was produced, recorded, mixed and mastered by multi-IBMA Award winner Ron Stewart at Starlett & Big John's Studio in Southampton, Virginia. It features Starlett on bass and vocals and Big John on guitar and vocals, David Carroll on banjo, Johnathan Dillon on mandolin along with guest contributions by Stewart on fiddle, Dobro and harmony vocals. Embracing the combined influences of bluegrass, country, gospel and Americana, the songs run a stylistic gamut, from the amiable ramble of "Makin' Tracks to Macon," the sprightly sound of "Quit Quittin' You," and the determined delivery of "Makeup and Faded Blue Jeans," to the unassuming sway of "The Ties That Bind," the saunter and shine of "Slowly Let Me Down," the beautiful balladry shared in the title track, and, ultimately, the quiet, contemplative musings of "The Dirt That You Throw" and "Deepening Snow." So too, the album finds an even divide between the duo's engaging originals and certified standards by such revered musical masters as Merle Haggard, Fred Rose, Sonny Throckmorton and Harlan Howard. Ultimately, 'Living in the South' resonates through wistful reflection and adept instrumentation, a sound that offers reverence and respect for a traditional template as expressed through Big John and Starlett's eager embrace. Effortlessly alluring and instantly engaging, these vibrant sounds resonate with clear and compelling commitment.


  1. Name
  2. Makin' Tracks to Macon
  3. The Ties That Bind
  4. Quit Quittin' You
  5. Living in the South
  6. Settin' the Woods on Fire
  7. Straight 58
  8. Back Away Little Heart
  9. Slowly Let Me Down
  10. Clean Slate
  11. Makeup and Faded Blue Jeans
  12. The Dirt That You Throw
  13. My Brown Eyed Darling
  14. Safely in the Arms of Jesus
  15. Deepening Snow

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite