THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Garden Of My Mind The Complee Recordings 1964-1967

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
Garden Of My Mind The Complee Recordings 1964-1967
Garden Of My Mind The Complee Recordings 1964-1967


The Mickey Finn are one of those cult 60s Mod bands shrouded in mystery who have yet to enjoy a retrospective of their own - until now! They started life as Mickey Finn & The Blue Men on ska label Blue Beat, coinciding with the craze for Jamaican music which exploded in 1964. A shift to Oriole saw them gravitate to an R&B/beat sound, with help on occasion from a guitarist named Jimmy Page. Further singles in 1965/1966, the Shel Talmy-produced 'The Sporting Life' and 'I Do Love You', revealed their skill at soulful ballads. In 1967, they unleashed one of the finest nuggets of the British psych era, 'Garden Of My Mind', on the Direction label. This CD marks the first time when all the Mickey Finn's recordings have been compiled: every A- and B-side plus the retrospective 7", 'God Bless The Child' (rescued from acetate) and three previously unissued demos. Sleeve-notes by Brian Neavyn (Ugly Things), who has interviewed band members to finally tell the band's story.


  1. Name
  2. Pills
  3. I Still Want You
  4. Garden of My Mind
  5. Night Comes Down
  6. Hush Your Mouth
  7. Time to Start Loving You
  8. Ain't Necessarily So **
  9. If I Had You Baby
  10. The Sporting Life
  11. Because I Love You (Alias I Do Love You)
  12. Reelin' & A'rockin'
  13. Stagger Lee*
  14. Poverty*
  15. Miss Jane*
  16. God Bless the Child**
  17. Tom Hark
  18. Please Love Me
Out of stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide